Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

    This is a discussion on G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi I just wanted to know how would I go aboult check to see is my sky router is connected ...

    1. #1
      connormill's Avatar
      connormill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kincorth, aberdeen, scotland
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      hi
      I just wanted to know how would I go aboult check to see is my sky router is connected vid G.DMT or ADSL 2+
      cheers
      connor


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4

      use that tool to get your full stats it will tell you

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      If you are on Connect you will not be on ADSL2+

    5. #4
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you are on Connect you will not be on ADSL2+

      your right i didnt notice that

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      Could be he/she has not updated their profile, many seem to forget. I think you have to be on Max to get ADSL2+. I know I am still on G.DMT.

    7. #6
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      im on MAX G.DMT too nice and stable

    8. #7
      connormill's Avatar
      connormill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kincorth, aberdeen, scotland
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Could be he/she has not updated their profile, many seem to forget. I think you have to be on Max to get ADSL2+. I know I am still on G.DMT.
      well i am still on connect but have been told that we can get mid or max so was just wanting to know if i was G.DMT od ADSL2

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      If you go for Mid you will be on G.DMT, as you are now. If you go for Max it will depend on what your line can support, if you have a good line and are fairly close to your exchange, you will probably be put on ADSL2+. Being on G,DMT is not a bad thing you know, for myself, on Connect the best d/l speed I saw was 5500kbps, on Mid, I am now nudging 7000kbps. newskyBOd is also on G.DMT with Max and is more than happy.

      If you post your detailed stats, someone will give you an idea what you can expect. Remember your stats should be taken after a period of heavy downloading and preferably from the Test socket.

    10. #9
      connormill's Avatar
      connormill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kincorth, aberdeen, scotland
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you go for Mid you will be on G.DMT, as you are now. If you go for Max it will depend on what your line can support, if you have a good line and are fairly close to your exchange, you will probably be put on ADSL2+. Being on G,DMT is not a bad thing you know, for myself, on Connect the best d/l speed I saw was 5500kbps, on Mid, I am now nudging 7000kbps. newskyBOd is also on G.DMT with Max and is more than happy.

      If you post your detailed stats, someone will give you an idea what you can expect. Remember your stats should be taken after a period of heavy downloading and preferably from the Test socket.
      i will post some more drailed stats later but for now I am about 400metres away from the exchange and
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8000 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 9.0 db 5.5 db
      Noise Margin 5.6 db 22.0 db

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 8000 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38


      (This is from a extension i put into my bedroom, coming from the master socket up through the loft and down into my bedroom so is about 10m)

      I will move the router and get deatalied info later tonight

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: G.DMT or ADSL2+, how to tell

      With an Attn of 9 on an extension, I don't think their is much doubt that you will get the maximum Sky can provide. Your noise margin is a bit low, maybe you could do with a router reboot.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION