Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

    This is a discussion on How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have had an e-mail (after I chased Sky) to say that an order has been put forward for me ...

    1. #1
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      I have had an e-mail (after I chased Sky) to say that an order has been put forward for me to be LLu'd

      How do I know when this has happened?

      I have checked the BT Business account page and nothing is showing. I wonder if this is to do with the BT change in systems. My brother is trying to get a new phoneline put in and BT have now lost all contact with the engineers. Apparently they have now to e-mail openreach so the competition between BT and other companies is fair. Oh yeah and the customer is not suffering..... he has waited 35 days now for an engineer to phone and tell him how long it will take to connect the line.

      Anyhow back to the question... how do I know when I am unbundled?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      Anyhow back to the question... how do I know when I am unbundled?
      Can you access the My Sky site part of the Sky website, if so login into your account as see what is showing under the Broadband option. Other than that make a note of your router stats and look and see if they change.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      I did not think you could go from Connect to Base, it would normally be to Mid.

    5. #4
      Regord's Avatar
      Regord is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swindon, Blunsdon
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      You can indeed move from Connect to Base - I recently did it. If you're a lightish user it is well worth trying Base first and if you regularly exceede the d/l limit then it's easy to upgrade (you can't downgrade for a year)

      The way I knew I had gone live on Base was when my connection speed locked in at 2048, without variation, my noise margin went up to around 15-17 and my connection stabilised!

    6. #5
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      Will a tracert show you if I am still going through BTs IP STREAM or SKY LLU?

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      tracert www.skyuser.co.uk

      Tracing route to skyuser.co.uk [85.10.136.226]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 2 ms <1 ms <1 ms router address
      2 45 ms 45 ms 45 ms dr10.bllon.ov.easynet.net [89.200.128.???]
      3 47 ms 46 ms 45 ms 5acfee02.bb.sky.com [90.207.238.???]
      4 47 ms 47 ms 45 ms ip-89-200-134-???.ov.easynet.net [89.200.134.???
      ]
      5 46 ms 46 ms 45 ms ge2-1-0.er3.tclon.uk.easynet.net [89.200.130.???]

      6 46 ms 47 ms 44 ms LINX2.LON-2.uk.lambdanet.net [195.66.226.???]
      7 62 ms 63 ms 63 ms FRA-1-pos313.de.lambdanet.net [82.197.136.???]
      8 62 ms 64 ms 63 ms Amen-FRA1.de.lambdanet.net [217.71.104.210]
      9 64 ms 64 ms 62 ms 62.193.251.14
      10 63 ms 63 ms 63 ms skyuser.co.uk [85.10.136.226]

      Trace complete.

      I always thought bt was mentioned somewhere in the addresses...maybe I am wrong.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    7. #6
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      Post your stats on here from your router, something like:

      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps

    8. #7
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      router shows

      DOWNLOAD : 2400
      UPLOAD 448

      NDO Broadband Speedtester (Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed) shows:

      DOWNLOAD:1881kbps -2000kbps depending in the last three tests all conducted one after another.

      UPLOAD:381

      PLEASE REMEMBER I HAVE ASKED FOR BASE SO WILL BE CAPPED AT 2Mb
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    9. #8
      Helpmeplease's Avatar
      Helpmeplease is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Broadband Option 1 (not for much longer)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      One way of knowing that you have moved to an LLU package e.g. Base, Mid or Max, is that your upload speed will go up from approx 450kb > 770kb.

    10. #9
      DIRTY HARRY's Avatar
      DIRTY HARRY is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCCAF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Carnforth
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      Quote Originally Posted by Helpmeplease View Post
      One way of knowing that you have moved to an LLU package e.g. Base, Mid or Max, is that your upload speed will go up from approx 450kb > 770kb.

      Your upload will only go that high if you are on MAX! I am on MID and my upload is about 380kbps

    11. #10
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      try doing a BT speedtest - if you have been LLU'd, you will always get an error.

      If it works, you're still on connect

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION