Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

    This is a discussion on How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by DIRTY HARRY Your upload will only go that high if you are on MAX! I am on ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      Quote Originally Posted by DIRTY HARRY View Post
      Your upload will only go that high if you are on MAX! I am on MID and my upload is about 380kbps
      your upload should be 416, anything less and you're either on ADSL2+ (which is wrong for Mid) or u got a wiring issue...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      524
      Thanks
      56
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      Hmmm ... I'm supposed to be transferred to Mid from Connect today. I was told it would mean a disconnection of around 20 minutes and according to my router stats that has not happened ... it has been connected for several days without a disconnect (which must be a record in itself).

      HOWEVER ... my speed is normally around 1-1.5Mb and it has jumped to around 2.5M. I checked my upload speed earlier and it was around 370, although it is usually around the 400 mark (448 seems the norm). It is now 416.

      I have NEVER had 2.5 d/load speed before, which makes me think I have been moved over, but the lack of disconnection seems to argue against that .... any ideas?

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      well, ur upload of 416 would suggest ur on the LLU now....IF you can get onto a Tag on the Line site and run ur number through it it'd have LLU SMPF on the line - if it was connect it'd say Easynet BB or something like that

    5. #14
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      524
      Thanks
      56
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      Where would i find one of these "tag on the line" sites? And shouldn't my router have disconnected at some point if I had been transferred over?

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      well, we use on at Sky but obviously there's a log in for it so can't give that out....thought there might be one about on the web somewhere but tbh i wouldn't know

      maybe ring BT and ask??...

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      just google'd this...

      0800 169 0934 (option 2, then 2 again)

      supposedly you can ask if there is a tag on the line but wouldn't know if they'd know if it was LLU or not...

    8. #17
      Stumpy's Avatar
      Stumpy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      524
      Thanks
      56
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How do I know when I have moved from Connect to Base?

      Hahaaa .... just realised, when I said the router had not been disconnected at all, that that wasn't strictly true. I'm that used to having to reboot the router when I get disconnected, that it threw me when I saw it had been online for so long.

      When I've looked in more detail though, although the LAN has been up for quite some time, the WAN has only been up for about 3 hours .... so I guess thats probably when they did it.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION