Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Severe problems

    This is a discussion on Severe problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm having problems with my BB service. Website won't load, I have to press refersh loads of time for a ...

    1. #1
      yascpa's Avatar
      yascpa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Severe problems

      I'm having problems with my BB service. Website won't load, I have to press refersh loads of time for a website to finally come up, and speeds are extremely slow.

      However, this doesn't seem to affect my laptop (which is a wireless connection), only my desktop (which is connected to the router via ethernet). Any ideas on what could be up?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Severe problems

      Try downloading TCPOptimizer (it's free from the usual sites).

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Severe problems

      full stats and knowing what package ur on would help a lot too...

    5. #4
      Mr KP's Avatar
      Mr KP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Sudbury, NW London
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Severe problems

      Quote Originally Posted by yascpa View Post
      I'm having problems with my BB service. Website won't load, I have to press refersh loads of time for a website to finally come up, and speeds are extremely slow.

      However, this doesn't seem to affect my laptop (which is a wireless connection), only my desktop (which is connected to the router via ethernet). Any ideas on what could be up?
      I bet you installed the Sky CD on your Desktop but not your laptop?
      goto Start>Control Panels>Add/remove and uninstall the Sky software.

      The sky software made my internet ultra slow so I removed. If this isn't the case then i'll be surprised.
      Last edited by Mr KP; 01-07-07 at 07:48 PM. Reason: typo

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Severe problems

      the CD doesnt install any software regarding the internet connection, just upgrades Internet Explorer to version 7 and puts on McAfee VirusScan (which I've for 7 years with not a single issue and no viruses - others, however, have had bad experiences with it so its all personal preference)

      without seeing the line stats we can't see if its a wiring issue. Are you using an extention, plug in or hard-wired? are you using wireless?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Severe problems

      my laptop (which is a wireless connection)
      my desktop (which is connected to the router via ethernet)


      Check that you have the latest drivers for the LAN card. Many will run on XP generic drivers, but not very well. When you have installed the latest drivers, then use TCP Optimiser to improve your connection.

    8. #7
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Severe problems

      Are you running Vista by chance with a Realtek 8139 Network card and have used Windows Update lately?
      If so roll back the driver for the RTL8139 to the previous version

    9. #8
      yascpa's Avatar
      yascpa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Severe problems

      thanks for the advice guys.

      i tried most of what you said, then gave up and reformatted the desktop (like I said, wifi laptop browses fine). still experiencing the same problem - browsing VERY slow, and it takes multiple attempts to actually load a site. since there is almost no software on the desktop (XP SP2, IE7 and other browsers) I have no idea what could be wrong.

      i'm not using wireless on the desktop (just the laptop). i'm not sure how to get line stats - if someone could point me in the right direction ill try and get them. i'm on the max package.

      anyone have a clue?

    10. #9
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Severe problems

      Quote Originally Posted by yascpa View Post
      thanks for the advice guys.
      i'm not using wireless on the desktop (just the laptop). i'm not sure how to get line stats - if someone could point me in the right direction ill try and get them. i'm on the max package.

      anyone have a clue?
      If your able to use your laptop without any problems, then it doesn't sound like a wiring or line issue, so I wouldn't expect your stats to reveal anything significant. However here's how to do it:-

      Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4.
      Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password (default = "admin" and "sky").
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).

      Only other suggestion I can make is to see if you can borrow a wireless USB adapter from somewhere. That way you can determine whether your problem is associated with your LAN connection (e.g. card, drivers or cable) or something else (e.g. multiple browsers on same computer etc).
      Last edited by Steve case; 10-07-07 at 11:07 AM.
      Useful Links
      Download RouterStats (useful utility for continuously recording noise margin)

    11. #10
      dflour69's Avatar
      dflour69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hastings
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hastings
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Severe problems

      Just a thought: have you tried your desktop with a different cable or possibly connected your laptop with your current cable? I had all sorts of problems recently that were driving me spare. Changed the cable and bingo, they all vanished. Also, perhaps try a different port on the router.
      Last edited by dflour69; 10-07-07 at 10:51 AM. Reason: typos

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION