Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 40

    Moving Home

    This is a discussion on Moving Home within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well, well.... Aint sky great, NOT! Moving home this coming Sunday and sky has informed me that they will need ...

    1. #1
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Moving Home

      Well, well....

      Aint sky great, NOT!

      Moving home this coming Sunday and sky has informed me that they will need 15 days to terminate at the old address and another 15 days for a reconnection at the new address, thats a stagering 30 days without internet.

      Thats a joke in my opinion.

      Shame BT would not move the broadband over at the same time as my line. Im moving to a home within the same area as my exchange so BT just turn off this line and activate the new line thats already installed with the same number.

      Why owe why cant they move the bloody broadband as well.

      God I hate sky.

      Regards.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving Home

      Its more like 20 days, 10 for the cease, 10 for the reprovide, 30 is a safe number (and one any provider would give you). Are you changing phone number or taking it with you?

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moving Home

      i think he's taking the number....

    5. #4
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving Home

      Thats a shame, moving the number causes us no end of problems.

      Cease Placed -> New BT Line Installed -> 5 Day Wait -> Order Placed

      if its a new number, the cease can be placed and the order on the new line can go through immediately, reducing the days offline to potentially none...

    6. #5
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Moving Home

      Im taking the number with me, but for the sake of a few days its not worth having a new number.

      Thanks guys.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #6
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Moving Home

      Well I thought for a while about having the new line at the new home connected asap with a new number, then get sky to activate this new line hence removing the 15 days to drop the old order.

      Sky, great people say thats not posible and the only way to do it is wait the bloody 15 days for disconnection and placing a new order which will take another 15 days.

      Nightmare.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    8. #7
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving Home

      As I said above, its only possible to do that if you have a new number - until the line is ceased, its impossible to put through an order on the same number for any ISP..

    9. #8
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Moving Home

      I asked Sky if I can do just that on a new number and they said no because there systems will only allow one broadband package per sky customers account.

      So thats out of the question.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    10. #9
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving Home

      Not quite, its new functionality which hasn't been briefed out yet, it certainly works as I've done it for several MHO's (moving home's)...

    11. #10
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Moving Home

      So I presume by that comment you work for Sky?
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION