Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Hotmail not working thru OE?

    This is a discussion on Hotmail not working thru OE? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I'm now unable to use my Hotmail account thru Outlook Express since moving over to Sky (Max) Broadband, it ...

    1. #1
      matty271's Avatar
      matty271 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01327 Daventry, UK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Hotmail not working thru OE?

      Hi

      I'm now unable to use my Hotmail account thru Outlook Express since moving over to Sky (Max) Broadband, it was all previously OK with previous ISP (Tesco.com) and 3Com router. OE repeatedly prompts for the username/password, only way out of the loop is to cancel, then you get:

      Unable to poll for new messages on your HTTP server. Account: 'Hotmail', Server: 'http://services.msn.com/svcs/hotmail/httpmail.asp', Protocol: HTTPMail, Server Response: 'Invalid login.', Port: 0, Secure(SSL): No, Error Number: 0x800CCC32

      Not sure if its me, a Router setup issue or Sky, any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Zero_T's Avatar
      Zero_T is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hotmail not working thru OE?

      try this

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Hotmail not working thru OE?

      my belief was this is now a paid extra of Hotmail, and won't work with any provider - could be wrong though

      EDIT: having installed an update from the above link i now have my Hotmail.com account working in Outlook 2003, my Hotmail.co.uk one doesn't work though. Still makes life easier then always logging into hotmail via HTTP
      Last edited by IWasNotTheEnemy; 26-06-07 at 01:49 AM.

    5. #4
      matty271's Avatar
      matty271 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01327 Daventry, UK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hotmail not working thru OE?

      Quote Originally Posted by Zero_T View Post
      try this
      Cheers Zero_T worked a treat

      Seems strange this happened when I changed over to sky, but hey ho!!

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Hotmail not working thru OE?

      ive been on BT for years and it only did it with the newer version of hotmail/outlook, but working now - so im happy too!

    7. #6
      Rick-uk's Avatar
      Rick-uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01275
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hotmail not working thru OE?

      freepops is a freeware gateway to allow pop3 access to newer hotmail accounts

    8. #7
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hotmail not working thru OE?

      I use outlook express to download hotmail and it works ok for me. 'Newer' hotmail accounts obtained after a certain date ( i`m not sure what date though ) are now not able to download through an e-mail client.
      http://www.speedtest.net/



      Users armed with a little knowledge are dangerous things!
      Step away from the keyboard slowly............your right to use the internet has been revoked!
      You have a 'PEBKAC' problem

    9. #8
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hotmail not working thru OE?

      that is bad news i can't believe hotmail have one that

    10. #9
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hotmail not working thru OE?

      I think they're wanting people to get a 'paid for' hotmail account so are stopping the support for the free one and also stopping allowing people to set up OE for it. Ultimately anyone who can still access hotmail through OE will probably find eventually the access will stop and OE will throw an error up when trying to access their hotmail account throu OE. I found a quick bit of info here > Can I use Outlook Express or Outlook to access my Hotmail account? - Ask Leo!
      http://www.speedtest.net/



      Users armed with a little knowledge are dangerous things!
      Step away from the keyboard slowly............your right to use the internet has been revoked!
      You have a 'PEBKAC' problem

    11. #10
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hotmail not working thru OE?

      thunderbird and hotmail is ok

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION