Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.

Sky MAX slow connection, ADSL2+ in Exchange - faulty DSLAM?

This is a discussion on Sky MAX slow connection, ADSL2+ in Exchange - faulty DSLAM? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi SkyUser guys and gals, First time post and all that... your help would be very much appreciated. I was ...

ahirshfield is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WGC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Sky TV:

Sky MAX slow connection, ADSL2+ in Exchange - faulty DSLAM?

Hi SkyUser guys and gals,
      First time post and all that... your help would be very much appreciated.

I was connected to Sky Broadband MAX about 2 months ago and have experienced quite a few issues.
      As a Telecoms engineer myself (T-Mobile) I have diagnosed and corrected most of the usual problems myself:

• Wireless drop-out – change security settings to WEP and disable UPnP (precautionary).
      • DSL losing sync – reduce noise; test using BT master NTE5; remove ringer from extensions.
      • "LCP is down" error – establish higher signal to noise ratio with above fixes.

The single remaining problem is a severely reduced downstream bandwidth/speed of between 3-4 Mbit/s.
      I am certain that the local exchange "Welwyn Garden City" is ADSL2+ enabled as Sky have installed their own DSLAM for LLU.

All CRC, ES and other error stats on the detailed modem stats are fine, while the Max(Kbps) down is currently 4216 with Rate slightly lower.

My distance to the exchange is 1.5km and BT have checked the line as 100% okay on all remote tests between the exchange and my premises on a brand new build development.
      With all usual variables considered I should be technically and physically able to achieve between 8-16 Mb, or at lease significantly higher than I currently connect.