Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 54

    MacAfee or not

    This is a discussion on MacAfee or not within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; MacAfee While I was on Dial Up I always use to use Zone Alarm for a Firewall and Avast for ...

    1. #1
      keithhill's Avatar
      keithhill is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      MacAfee or not

      MacAfee

      While I was on Dial Up I always use to use Zone Alarm for a Firewall and Avast for my Virus Checker, and both did a splendid job together
      However since I have been on Sky Broadband I have still been using Avast but not Zone Alarm as I was advised not to have more than one Firwall that being the one built into the Broadband box. I also have shutdown the Windows XP firewall.
      Is this a correct combination and is it enough protection.
      Would it be a good idea to install the provided MacAfee and shut down the Firewall or should the Firewall on MacAfee be enabled?
      I have heard bad reports on MacAfee? But I suppose itís a matter of opinion.
      You advice on this matter would be most welcome


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      when I'm connected I'm going to uninstall my current anti virus and install MacAfee to see how it performs, but yes it not as good as say Nod32 for virus protection.
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    4. #3
      KILL BILL's Avatar
      KILL BILL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: spam
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      164
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i was using avast although it was a good virus checker have foud that it took too long to do a full system scan

      have installed mcfee virus only.

      the router comes with a inbuilt firewall and also have xp firewall on so there is no need to have any more firewalls on like the one that comes with mcafee as that can cause further slow dowload speeds and conflicts between software.

    5. #4
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      just remember not to expect anything to be 100% effective
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    6. #5
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      same thing applies when using a condom*



      *Not based on personal experience

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have to be honest and say I wouldn't use MacAfee its gotten very bloated just like ZoneAlarm I use OutPost and Nod32 along with the router system is stable and no more large use of system resources
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Quote Originally Posted by Ratti3 View Post
      same thing applies when using a condom*



      *Not based on personal experience
      thats why i got 6 kids
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #8
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      im also gona install it just incase we get asked "how do you" with it
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      In an independent test of antivirus programs, Macafee scored 50% success ratio, which basically means it will only detect half of any virus's.

      Norton scores 90%, however hogs your system.

      Whatever you do dont use AVG - that scored 25%
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 12-09-06 at 01:58 AM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at £5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      @Satdish

      You are supposed to take them out of your pocket though at the very least.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

     

     
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION