Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 54

    MacAfee or not

    This is a discussion on MacAfee or not within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by andrewjr @ NewsreadeR i have used the free AVG edition since version 6, never had a problem ...

    1. #31
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      @ NewsreadeR

      i have used the free AVG edition since version 6, never had a problem with it.

      although, i might give McAfee ago since its got a 12 month license on it (hasn't it?)
      McAfee - yep 12 month, plus it has a 50% success - twice as much as AVG




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      This do???

      As opposed to this!
      Last edited by LNB; 13-09-06 at 09:40 PM.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #33
      Alphawao's Avatar
      Alphawao is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Battersea (WRBATT)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Earth
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I installed it to see how it would perform as I use to use Zonealarm.......
      OMG mcafee is a nightmare I uninstalled it after 2 days it drove me mad.....sign in to use the net.......reboot after updates.....beep this beep that....It's a resource hog man...I'm goging back to ZA!!

    5. #34
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes it does tend to bitch at you a lot and it can put a lot of strain on your system resources far to bloated in my opinion.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #35
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      What would be a good setup to have then?


      At the moment i am using, only freebies, ZoneAlarm f/w and AVG antivirus.



      lol.. the links that LNB posted, i had to refresh 3 or 4 times to get them to appear!

      Also is there a... List of the top ten A/V programs... found it myself lol.. (Note to self, be less lazzy)

      BUt my question is... For your average user, who doesn't need the front line stuff.... What i mean is.. Whats best and Free?
      Last edited by SteCole77; 15-09-06 at 10:16 AM.

    7. #36
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well I use [Nod32 AV and Outpost firewall both are quite cheap and very easy on the system.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #37
      MJMoore's Avatar
      MJMoore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dartford
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I've been a happy Kaspersky user for the past couple of years.

    9. #38
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @ SteCole77

      I have no idea what the best free stuff is

      I am a firm believer in you get what you pay for, over the years I have tried all kind of security software and I am now very happy with the setup I use.

      But you may be interested in the site Comodo as far as I know all there software is free
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #39
      Registered's Avatar
      Registered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      I use the free version of MacAfee, as found at www.oink.me.uk

    11. #40
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Registered

      As you are not logged in you don't seem to be registered so please do register thanks

      I take it its not bloated like the retail version?
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION