Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Noise margin/connection

    This is a discussion on Noise margin/connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I had a noise margin margin reading of under 5 but connection speed was around 11000kbs but internet pages were ...

    1. #1
      jswarb001's Avatar
      jswarb001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Churchtown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noise margin/connection

      I had a noise margin margin reading of under 5 but connection speed was around 11000kbs but internet pages were taking ages to load. I used Moguls utility to change the noise margin and now it is 14 but connection speed is only 7086kbs. Surely the higher the noise margin the better the connection speed? Curiously the internet pages do load quicker though. I am on max. Does this look right?


      System Up Time 124:17:46
      Port
      Status
      TxPkts
      RxPkts
      Collisions
      Tx B/s
      Rx B/s
      Up Time
      WAN
      PPPoA
      41447
      52685
      0
      5548
      35077
      00:20:10
      LAN
      10M/100M
      8704714
      7714042
      0
      5502
      5860
      124:17:44
      WLAN
      11M/54M/108M
      1236732
      1219119
      0
      1275
      614
      124:17:34
      ADSL Link
      Downstream
      Upstream
      Connection Speed
      7086 kbps
      764 kbps
      Line Attenuation
      38.5 db
      24.2 db
      Noise Margin
      14.2 db
      12.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Noise margin/connection

      You may find the first sticky in my signature at the bottom of this post helps your understanding of the relationship between noise margin and connection speed.

    4. #3
      jswarb001's Avatar
      jswarb001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Churchtown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin/connection

      Ok thanks but with my attenuation shouldnt I be getting around 11800kbs?

    5. #4
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin/connection

      Quote Originally Posted by jswarb001 View Post
      Ok thanks but with my attenuation shouldnt I be getting around 11800kbs?
      Yes . . . in theory. However any noise on your line will limit your connection speed. I have a similar attenuation figure to you, but the maximum stable connection speed I can get is about 7 Mbps. You may be able to improve things if your wiring is introducing additional noise. have you tried plugging into the test socket behind the faceplate on your master socket?
      Useful Links
      Download RouterStats (useful utility for continuously recording noise margin)

    6. #5
      jswarb001's Avatar
      jswarb001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Churchtown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin/connection

      Thanks for replying but maybe Im not undertsanding this fully. When I had a low noise margin the connection speed was higher than it is now that the noise margin is up to 14. The connection speed has gone down from around 11 to 7. So by using mogul it appears I ve solved the noise margin but the speed has deteriorated. Im not undrestanding why. Surely it should improve?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Noise margin/connection

      Quote Originally Posted by jswarb001 View Post
      I ve solved the noise margin but the speed has deteriorated. Im not undrestanding why.
      You can't "solve" the noise margin. The noise margin reported by your router is not a measure of noise on your line. It is a measure of the margin it has given itself when it negotiated with the exchange. This is in effect the difference between the actual SNR and the SNR the router requires to run at a given speed.

      Did you read the link I suggested? It is all explained there fairly simply. If there's a particular point you don't understand, what is it?
      Last edited by Saturday; 22-06-07 at 05:52 PM.

    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Noise margin/connection

      Thats the way it is! You need to set the noise margin at about 7 or 8, above the point where is will cause problems which is about 6. But not too high otherwise it will kill your speed.

    9. #8
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin/connection

      The higher you set the target noise margin, the lower will be the connection speed negotiated by your router. Thats why you shouldn't set it any higher than you need to. You just need to make sure that the actual noise margin stays above about 6.5 dB. (you will probably see it falling tonight from about 8pm onwards). As Koala says, a good starting point is to set your target noise margin to about 13 or 14 (assuming you do it during the quiet period). That will give you about 7dB to allow for the inevitable reductions that will occur.

      But don't forget that you may well be able to improve things by eliminating (as far as possible) any noise due to your internal wiring. Both Koala and myself found that to be a significant part of the problem, and after getting it sorted, our connections improved considerably.
      Useful Links
      Download RouterStats (useful utility for continuously recording noise margin)

    10. #9
      jswarb001's Avatar
      jswarb001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Churchtown
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Southport
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise margin/connection

      Ok sorted, thanks for your help.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION