Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Dropping out

    This is a discussion on Dropping out within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, I'm new here, so not too sure if I need to start a new thread or not, but hey ...

    1. #1
      SonnyRider's Avatar
      SonnyRider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: no idea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Bath
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Dropping out

      Hey,

      I'm new here, so not too sure if I need to start a new thread or not, but hey

      Obviously a new user to sky. Having some 'issues' with my connections\router and am hoping some of the wise can help me find out WTF is going on

      I am frequently losing the connection. I've turned off the UPnP as per what most other posts mention.
      I still have to reboot the router to get my BB working after a 'period' of time. I've not really looked to see if there is a pattern there or not.
      I've yet to check the main socket and wiring there.

      just now, playing on the 360 and it's disconnected me from live, but yet i have a net connection because I'm writing this.

      I've got the utily to check \ change my router, here is the report :-

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 11498 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.9 12.0
      Attn(dB): 33.5 20.0
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 11624 864
      Rate (Kbps): 11498 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 243(0) 24
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 90 68
      B: 242 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.6734 7.7037
      L: 3029 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 129893 129891
      SFErr: 47 1
      RS: 12469756 1104073
      RSCorr: 1360524 131088
      RSUnCorr: 861 0

      HEC: 43 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 56936076 3745807
      Data Cells: 3125318 122890
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 38 1
      SES: 6 0
      UAS: 14 17
      Total time = 35 min 19 sec
      SF = 129893
      CRC = 47
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 38
      Latest 1 day time = 35 min 19 sec
      SF = 129893
      CRC = 47
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 38
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 19 sec
      SF = 19732
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55730
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54431
      CRC = 27
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 21

      yes, I know it's not not been up for long, but this is my problem some days.

      Also earlier whilst downloading from easynews via HTTP: i only got 300kbps.

      please, enlighten me
      Last edited by SonnyRider; 19-06-07 at 10:24 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SonnyRider's Avatar
      SonnyRider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: no idea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Bath
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: Dropping out

      The router is losing it's IP address from Sky.

      Does anybody haveany suggestions on how to deal with this problem?

      I can't find any info about losing IP address's



      hello?

      Echo...

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Dropping out

      its losing IP due to speed issues - ur line is set for 16MB but won't get more than it is now so the extra speed being sent is causing the router to drop IP (could be due to error build up)

      have you tried the test socket behind the master to see if this 1. gives more speed, 2. stops the drops?

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,842
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Dropping out

      You need stats for a longer period of time really but even after 30 minutes you are showing a few CRC errors. If you cant get it to stay up long enough to get a decent set of stats then try your test socket behind the master socket face plate. If problem improves then you most likely have wiring issues.

    6. #5
      SonnyRider's Avatar
      SonnyRider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: no idea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Bath
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping out

      This stat was taken last night. And it dropped within 40mins. Really annoying as I was racing on Forza 2 at the time

      I've not done the test socket yet, that was going to be my next port of call. I'll give that a try tonight

      EDIT :- The master socket was replaced about 3 years ago. I'll check for the ringer wire. Mind I expect the internal wiring to be the culprit

    7. #6
      SonnyRider's Avatar
      SonnyRider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: no idea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Bath
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping out

      Ok, I've connected into the test socket and here are my stats :-

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 13772 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 12.5
      Attn(dB): 33.5 19.8
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 13776 864
      Rate (Kbps): 13772 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 110 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.5529 7.7037
      L: 3689 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 183102 183100
      SFErr: 20 22
      RS: 21239924 1556350
      RSCorr: 126340 45
      RSUnCorr: 919 0

      HEC: 19 23
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 95395640 5290783
      Data Cells: 524781 104935
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 11 12
      SES: 4 0
      UAS: 16 764
      Total time = 49 min 19 sec
      SF = 183102
      CRC = 20
      LOS = 9
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11
      Latest 1 day time = 49 min 19 sec
      SF = 183102
      CRC = 20
      LOS = 9
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 19 sec
      SF = 16147
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56109
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56109
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 7
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54737
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3

      These look better don't they? Speed has gone up a little too and looks like less CRC errors?

      I notice i have the bell wire AND the PABX connected for the extensions from the master socket. It's ok to disconnect those isn't it? I have and am now watching the stats
      Last edited by SonnyRider; 20-06-07 at 09:04 PM.

    8. #7
      SonnyRider's Avatar
      SonnyRider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: no idea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Bath
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping out

      Stats from overnight :-

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 13749 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.4 12.0
      Attn(dB): 33.5 20.0
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 13752 864
      Rate (Kbps): 13749 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 110 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.5538 7.7037
      L: 3683 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 403516 403514
      SFErr: 66 1
      RS: 46807866 3429869
      RSCorr: 1242841 0
      RSUnCorr: 2581 0

      HEC: 65 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 210200995 11646732
      Data Cells: 20546 8769
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 38 1
      SES: 18 0
      UAS: 14 68
      Total time = 1 hours 48 min 21 sec
      SF = 403516
      CRC = 66
      LOS = 17
      LOF = 0
      ES = 38
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 48 min 21 sec
      SF = 403516
      CRC = 66
      LOS = 17
      LOF = 0
      ES = 38
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 21 sec
      SF = 12573
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56018
      CRC = 39
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56018
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56019
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56080
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2

      seems to be much better, I've not needed to reboot the router to get the BB working again

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,842
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Dropping out

      Yes it is Ok to disconnect bell wire etc you only need pins 2 and 5 connected in all sockets. You CRC errors look fine. If the connection is now stable take the stats over a longer period of time and see how they look. The only other thing I notice is your noise margin is quite low, if it drops below 6 you are likely to suffer disconnections. If you continue to have problems the it may be worth using the mognuts util to set the noise margin slightly higher maybe 8 or 9 but this will reduce your speed slightly.

    10. #9
      SonnyRider's Avatar
      SonnyRider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: no idea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Bath
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping out

      Ok, cheers for the heads up RE the noise margin. I'll keep an eye on things
      I don't mind losing a little speed for more reliable connections

      I'm hoping to investigate why my xbox360 disconnects, but the PC stays online. Maybe it was related to the problem..

      but again thanks for the advice Koala5

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION