Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

    This is a discussion on New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok, ran the optimiser and no change, still cannot get over 1mb. Cannot try wired as the router is not ...

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      Ok, ran the optimiser and no change, still cannot get over 1mb. Cannot try wired as the router is not easy to get to at the moment, my signal strenght is good though and the router I was using befor the Sky one was also a Netgear.

      Everything is so slow, pages seem to take ages to load, it has gotton worse over the evening, was able to get 2mb earlier.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      that was a bit quick to run the optimiser, have you rebooted the PC?

    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      What if I reconfig my Netgear Rangemax router to the Sky settings, could this solve the problem?

    5. #14
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      you really need to try it wired.

      You can always use your old router (you need to extract your username and password first using mognuts util). using a different router breaks T&Cs but will prove if it is a router set up problem.

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      Sure did, the optimiser only took a few seconds and the reboot on Vista is quite quick.

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      that was a bit quick to run the optimiser, have you rebooted the PC?
      Should I run it again?

    8. #17
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      no, use mognuts util (see my sig) to extract your sky log in details and then try your old router and post how that works.

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      Ok, swapped routers and updated the password etc. Now running 10-12mb so I would call that a success. Thanks all for your assistance, obviously my PC didn't like the change of routers.

      Thanks again all, now what do I need to do to get the full 16mb hmmmmmm!!!

    10. #19
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      you should expect to get about 75% of the sync speed (after overheads etc), so 75% of 16Mb would be 12Mb so I would say you're at top speed. YOu may be able to squeeze a bit more.

      As for the router, I would say it was your wireless settings. What channel is your old router on and what channel was your sky router on?

    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New activation today, 16Mb connection 2Mb speeds?

      Sounds right, think my old router was on 10 and the Sky one on 11. I have changed my old router to 11 as well so that may be it. I do prefer my old router (it's only a few months old) and is the Netgear rangemax which gives me a better signal around the house.

      I also changed the mode settings from auto to g & b on my old router.

      Thanks again.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION