Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 71

    The Signup Process

    This is a discussion on The Signup Process within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by LNB Is there a label under the router with a MAC Address on it? Edit - Today? ...

    1. #51
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by LNB View Post
      Is there a label under the router with a MAC Address on it?

      Edit - Today? Sunday?
      Just had a look there is a MAC code on the router itself along with the SSID and access key


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by Ratti3 View Post
      Just had a look there is a MAC code on the router itself along with the SSID and access key
      Does your existing router support MAC cloning? If so you could try using your existing router on the SKY service once active and advise us if this works (sort of guinea pig style).
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #53
      mrmojo's Avatar
      mrmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No, it won't be using MAC addresses AFIAK, you can't transmit these over ADSL. I would guess it would just be doing what BT do/did and don't bother with usernames and passwords, since the DSLAM can provide a unique identifier. Have you tried using another router?

    5. #54
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I signed up to the Max package on Thursday 17th, gave my migration code over the phone which they confirmed was fine. Received a letter this morning dated 17th confirming that the router had been ordered and would soon be delivered and also my username and password. Also said I would receive a further letter shortly detailing the activation date for my account.

      I'll let you all know how my order continues to progress.

      Hope this helps

      spcdust

    6. #55
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by mrmojo View Post
      No, it won't be using MAC addresses AFIAK, you can't transmit these over ADSL. I would guess it would just be doing what BT do/did and don't bother with usernames and passwords, since the DSLAM can provide a unique identifier. Have you tried using another router?
      If that's the case then I can't see why engineer gave the mac code and not the SN to sky, also both sky and the engineer said only their router could be used.

      Also the netgear has built in help which says the mac address can be seen on the internet.

      Only time will tell if another router works, I just need to wait for my line to be activated.

      LNB: My existing router is a crappy 4 port edimax, no mac cloning option here

    7. #56
      mrmojo's Avatar
      mrmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      They might just be using the MAC code as the serial number to keep their systems up to date.

      They might also have a piece of software on the router which hits a certain sky server after a basic ADSL connection has been made and sends its MAC code and sky gives a response based on if that MAC code is in the database.

      We shall see though...

    8. #57
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Guess what...just got of the phone to Sky and it seems BT cancelled the order on the 20th. They said they'll look into and give me a call tomorrow.

      This is a joke, if I get billed again by my existing ISP I'll demand Sky cover the costs.

    9. #58
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Guess what...just got of the phone to Sky and it seems BT cancelled the order on the 20th. They said they'll look into and give me a call tomorrow.
      was any reason given? maybe thats why you had probs last week re install etc




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #59
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      They couldn't give me a reason, I made it clear to them I was no happy.

      When I called last week (when I had the problems) they said all was ok.

    11. #60
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by spcdust View Post
      I signed up to the Max package on Thursday 17th, gave my migration code over the phone which they confirmed was fine. Received a letter this morning dated 17th confirming that the router had been ordered and would soon be delivered and also my username and password. Also said I would receive a further letter shortly detailing the activation date for my account.

      I'll let you all know how my order continues to progress.

      Hope this helps

      spcdust
      Further progress of my order, called up Sky today (Tuesday 22 August) just to check how things were progressing, told that my line is due to be switched on Tuesday 29 August, which, considering weekends and the bank holiday is around the ten day mark. No router as of yet but expect that in the next few days.

      I'll let you know how it continues to progress.

      spcdust

     

     
    Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION