Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Need help please!!

    This is a discussion on Need help please!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have been with sky bb since jan 07 and i am problems with my connection dropping every 30 ...

    1. #1
      gummydave's Avatar
      gummydave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need help please!!

      Hi, I have been with sky bb since jan 07 and i am problems with my connection dropping every 30 -60 mins,
      i am on my second router,i have unchecked upnp and set speed to auto, whitch has improved matters but not soved them i am connected directly to the master socket(bt) and tried two differnt Lan cables but still my connection drops
      please help before i chuck it out the window!!
      sky customer support knows naff all!!!!!!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Need help please!!

      i think they will want you to post your full stats before anyone can say

      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4

    4. #3
      gummydave's Avatar
      gummydave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help please!!

      Thanks , i am new to this.
      i think this what is needed:-
      System Up Time 05:52:53
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 424537 353050 0 17340 8370 05:51:20
      LAN 10M/100M 854819 1052528 0 13496 23478 05:52:51
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 1588 0 0 9 0 05:52:41


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5760 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.0 db

      I hope

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Need help please!!

      No you need to follow the proceedure below and post the whole page/result.

      Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4
      Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password.
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).

    6. #5
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help please!!

      Hi, Even with the stats you posted i can see that your attenuation of 33 should get the full 8096 sync with sky, i.e 8meg, you are currently only on 5760 which tells me that your internal phone wiring could be the cause of the problems. You need to read the stickies about cabling and master socket help as you need to check that the only wires connected to your master socket are on connectors 2 and 5, if you have more then this can cause noise on the line which has a detrimental effect on your overall speed and connection stablilty.

      Try unplugging everything from the master socket and have a look behind the faceplate for more than 2 wires connected. If so then remove the other wires from connectors 1 or 3 or 4 or 6 and only plug your router into the main socket via a filter and then see what you achive as your sync speed.

      All being well you should get the full 8mbs and the connection will have a healthier noise margin. the higher the better.

      Good Luck.
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    7. #6
      gummydave's Avatar
      gummydave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help please!!

      cheers ian, i have replaced internal phone wiring and only connected as stated in your post now i appear to be getting 8mb and no drops (24hrs and counting)super thanks for the help everyone
      System Up Time 03:23:53
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 31732 49925 0 290 4865 03:22:59
      LAN 10M/100M 50303 32391 0 4930 355 03:23:51
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 312 0 0 3 0 03:23:41


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 20.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 13.0 db

    8. #7
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help please!!

      Excellent,

      8 meg is more than enough nowadays but its always nice getting full speed for your package.

      Have fun, glad to have helped.

      Ian
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Need help please!!

      I may be wrong but your upstream speed seems a bit much for Mid. Are you on Max? If so you might squeeze a bit more of of it.

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION