Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Changed Connection Method Problem.

    This is a discussion on Changed Connection Method Problem. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello Everyone, I've been using a netgear USB WG111T to connect to the sky broadband router, but have been getting ...

    1. #1
      rlnc722's Avatar
      rlnc722 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Changed Connection Method Problem.

      Hello Everyone,

      I've been using a netgear USB WG111T to connect to the sky broadband router, but have been getting a few crashes.

      So I've got an Ethernet cable to see if I can improve matters.

      Thing is that when I do connect the cable, I cannot connect to the router, let alone the internet! I have Vista, and it tries to identify the network but cannot.

      I can get a IP address for the USB adaptor + MAC, via ipconfig and the router IP comes up as the default gateway.

      When I connect the Ethernet, I can get an IP address and MAC, but the default gateway is blank, as you would expect.

      The ethernet connector is CAT6.

      Looking around, it seems as though ISPs can register the MAC of the 1st item you use to connect with. Also, because the sky router has dropped some of the menu I cannot do basic settings.

      Anybody out there got any advice? It doesn't appear to be the firewall (NIS 2007).

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Changed Connection Method Problem.

      they record the MAC of the router and thats it - and im sure it should be CAT5 u use for an ethernet connection

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Changed Connection Method Problem.

      ignore the CAT6 comment, didnt know it was actually meant to be better than 5!!!!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Changed Connection Method Problem.

      Go to the Network and Sharing Centre. Check if you are configured to access the internet. Make sure that Network discovery is Selected. If you are not showing as being connected to the Internet, click Set up a Connection or Network in the Left pane. Follow the Wizard.

      If this does not work, try turning off the Norton Firewall, also the Windows one if you are using it. It in particular, has the habit of blocking connections without informing you.

    6. #5
      rlnc722's Avatar
      rlnc722 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changed Connection Method Problem.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Go to the Network and Sharing Centre. Check if you are configured to access the internet. Make sure that Network discovery is Selected. If you are not showing as being connected to the Internet, click Set up a Connection or Network in the Left pane. Follow the Wizard.

      If this does not work, try turning off the Norton Firewall, also the Windows one if you are using it. It in particular, has the habit of blocking connections without informing you.
      Thanks. Network discovery WAS on, but turning off the firewall for five minutes, and using Vista to automatically re-configue IP address has worked.

      Norton now recognises and protects the ethernet connection, and I'm on the net with that connection.

      Thanks very much for your ideas.

    7. #6
      rlnc722's Avatar
      rlnc722 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changed Connection Method Problem.

      Quote Originally Posted by rlnc722 View Post
      Thanks. Network discovery WAS on, but turning off the firewall for five minutes, and using Vista to automatically re-configue IP address has worked.

      Norton now recognises and protects the ethernet connection, and I'm on the net with that connection.

      Thanks very much for your ideas.
      Well, I'm now back to the WG111T ! The Ethernet connection reverted to unidentifyed network each time I restarted, which isn't good enough really.

      I went through the same method as before to establish a connection, but it didn't work.

      So now I'm back to the wireless adaptor (which has just failed and been re-installed!!!)

      Can anybody think of why the ethernet would be dropping every reboot?
      Can I connect the USB and ethernet at the same time?

      As far as I see the router is ok. When the PC fails, it seems to connect my Wii no problem. There must be a conflict somewhere, but god knows where.

      Can you sense my frustration??????

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Changed Connection Method Problem.

      windows will always take a wired connection over wireless as its physical so altho u can have it plugged in it won't be the active connection...

      are u using the vista drivers for the WG111T? if not, then thats prob gonna cause some issues

    9. #8
      rlnc722's Avatar
      rlnc722 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changed Connection Method Problem.

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      windows will always take a wired connection over wireless as its physical so altho u can have it plugged in it won't be the active connection...

      are u using the vista drivers for the WG111T? if not, then thats prob gonna cause some issues
      Vista drivers off the netgear page yes.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Changed Connection Method Problem.

      Do you have Vista drivers installed for the ethernet card? I can't help thinking the combination of Vista and the Norton Firewall have something to do with your problem. Try turning off the firewall for a while and see if it helps. If you have the firewall enabled in the router, you are very unlikely to run into trouble, unless you open dodgy emails or such like.

    11. #10
      rlnc722's Avatar
      rlnc722 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changed Connection Method Problem.

      I haven't installed any vista drivers. The ethernet is on the motherboard and I upgraded all possible drivers to vista when I got it.

      I have also noticed that this site resets the connection to the server a lot from my PC, which often leads to me being unable to read the page.

      Can't help thinking that if I solve that, I might solve this, although I have already proven that Norton is not responsible for that.

      I'll have a look for more drivers and try again, but I have seen similar problems scouting round on the net, with no solution!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION