Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

    This is a discussion on Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No going to do that after i found everything first as SK was saying diffrent and did not want to ...

    1. #11
      Mr Kennedy's Avatar
      Mr Kennedy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What website will tell me what i can get?

      No going to do that after i found everything first as SK was saying diffrent and did not want to sign up just incase.

      Also do i need my MAC when i sign up?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

      Yes you will if you are going to sign up.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      Mr Kennedy's Avatar
      Mr Kennedy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

      Ok will try and get that by 2mrw.

      Has anyone got a letter on here about FUP? As if i will sign up i will go for the Max package and the person i spoke to said if you do get a letter just bin it.

    5. #14
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

      have you managed to get your attenuation figure from your router stats so we can estimate the max speed you'll get?

    6. #15
      Mr Kennedy's Avatar
      Mr Kennedy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

      sorry, did not see your last post

      Item Value
      ADSL Line Type GDMT
      ADSL Line CodingADSL Line Coding FAST
      Line Attenuation (Down):3 (Up):3
      Noise Margin (Down):11 (Up):19
      Total Output Power (Down):0 (Up):0
      Current State DownStr: 8128(K) UpStr: 448(K)
      undefined UP
      FEC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      FEC(INTERL) (Near):0 (Far):0
      CRC(FAST) (Near):5 (Far):49
      undefined (Near):0 (Far):0
      HEC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      HEC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      Showtime last(sec) 0
      ADSL FW Version 0.54
      ADSL Board Type Annex A

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

      Quote Originally Posted by Mr Kennedy View Post
      Ok will try and get that by 2mrw.

      Has anyone got a letter on here about FUP? As if i will sign up i will go for the Max package and the person i spoke to said if you do get a letter just bin it.
      Unofficially there is 250gb FUP, however not one person has reported being told off for going over it. The one thing to remember for the benefit of internet users, is to try and schedule downloads overnight, this will have less impact on the network.

      That is not an official answer, just what most ISP's advise.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #17
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

      Quote Originally Posted by Mr Kennedy View Post
      sorry, did not see your last post

      Item Value
      ADSL Line Type GDMT
      ADSL Line CodingADSL Line Coding FAST
      Line Attenuation (Down):3 (Up):3
      Noise Margin (Down):11 (Up):19
      Total Output Power (Down):0 (Up):0
      Current State DownStr: 8128(K) UpStr: 448(K)
      Hmmm, shame that doesn't really help as 3 surely can't be right unless you live at the exchange!! If 3 is correct then you will get the full 16Mb!

      Your Noise Margin of 11 certainly suggests that you will get a lot higher than the 8Mb that you are currently synching at.

    9. #18
      Mr Kennedy's Avatar
      Mr Kennedy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

      Thats great most of mine are anyway.

      Lets hope i dont get rubbish speeds, and seen alot of posts about restarting their router all the time is this common?

    10. #19
      Mr Kennedy's Avatar
      Mr Kennedy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Hmmm, shame that doesn't really help as 3 surely can't be right unless you live at the exchange!! If 3 is correct then you will get the full 16Mb!

      Your Noise Margin of 11 certainly suggests that you will get a lot higher than the 8Mb that you are currently synching at.
      Well i live 142meters away from it, it's just down the road from me.

    11. #20
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Sky says i can get 16mbps (Max) but my line does not support it

      3 could be right then. I've not heard anyone with a figure that low!!!!

      DSL ZoneUK - How fast can I get on ADSL2+? gives you an indication of what you'll get based on your attenuation.

      Looks like it will be good news for you then!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION