Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    speedtouch 121g

    This is a discussion on speedtouch 121g within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am trying to connect using a speedtouch network adaptor. I get to the point where it says "acquiring network ...

    1. #1
      mchow's Avatar
      mchow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      speedtouch 121g

      I am trying to connect using a speedtouch network adaptor. I get to the point where it says "acquiring network address" and then nothing happens.
      Windows will not repair the connection so I don't know how to proceed.
      My Belkin adaptor works OK but is not reliable and needs to be repaired often


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speedtouch 121g

      Have you looked at he trouble-shooter in the User Guide also make sure you are using the correct drivers for the adapter you have. (Ver. 1 or 2)

    4. #3
      mchow's Avatar
      mchow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speedtouch 121g

      Troubleshooter not much help. I downloaded the latest setup program from their site so driver should not be a problem.
      Speedtouh does not appear on Add/Remove program list - another mystery

    5. #4
      khile's Avatar
      khile is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCLE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speedtouch 121g

      try under Device manager as my speedtouch products install themselfs there under network adapter

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speedtouch 121g

      The reason I mention drivers is because there is a special note on the link page which mentions that Ver 1 and Ver 2 require different drivers. Are you sure you are using the correct one for your adapter. If you are using the wrong one this might explain why it is not appearing in the Add/Remove list.

      It is also sometimes better to turn off the security in the router until a connection is made.

    7. #6
      mchow's Avatar
      mchow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speedtouch 121g

      Device manager was no help. Problem is that the device is working properly but it will not connect (or maybe I don't know how to connect!!!). Windows does not seem able to repair the device. If it is working properly can anyone give me details of how I can connect?

    8. #7
      mchow's Avatar
      mchow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speedtouch 121g

      I went through everything again and didn't do anything different but I am now connected and my fingers are crossed !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Thanks for all your advice

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION