Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Improve BB speed?

    This is a discussion on Improve BB speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm on a suposed '16mb' connection, but in actual fact, on good days I only reach 4mb. I've heard ...

    1. #1
      Ashketchup's Avatar
      Ashketchup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Improve BB speed?

      Hi, I'm on a suposed '16mb' connection, but in actual fact, on good days I only reach 4mb.

      I've heard there are ways of optimising my router, but I don't know how. Here are my SpeedTest Results:



      I'm using a Belkin 125g high speed router. Model number: F5D7633-4.

      Cheers,
      Ash.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Improve BB speed?

      No, you're on an up to 16meg connection. Actual sync speed is influenced by line length and condition.

      You may also be confusing sync speed with download speed. There are many reasons for slow speedtests, wireless connection problems being a prime one.

      Can I suggest you spend a little time reading a few "stickies" on the forum. The first one in my signature at the bottom of this post might be a good place to start.
      Last edited by Saturday; 07-06-07 at 10:01 PM.

    4. #3
      jonny1st's Avatar
      jonny1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improve BB speed?

      only suggestion i can reach is altering ur MTU size. U need to monitor the connection both wirelessly and ethernet. Plus if u have both on the computer disable the one u are not using. and wireless encryption will affect it. Basically, ask BT where ur exchange is, go to halfords and rent a trundle wheel. Measure ur distance to the exchange, if it's more than 2000 clicks u won't get max, more than 4000 no mid
      Last edited by jonny1st; 08-06-07 at 05:35 AM. Reason: typo
      It doesn't get better than this band lol

    5. #4
      Ashketchup's Avatar
      Ashketchup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improve BB speed?

      I know it's 'up to' 16mb. But I think I'm paying for 'up to' 16mb and having a 2mb connection is kind of a rip-off.

      Also, sorry this is in the wrong section I will re-post it.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Improve BB speed?

      Please read the stickies as advised and then post your stats. Without them no-one can give you any sensible advice.

      No problem with where you have posted this thread.

    7. #6
      Ashketchup's Avatar
      Ashketchup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improve BB speed?

      I think I will get more replies in the appropriate section. Could this one please, be locked and the other one re-opened?

      And yes, I have tried the second link in your sig, but regarding the first link, I don't know how to find out noise levels etc, because I'm using a Belkin router.

    8. #7
      help@hand's Avatar
      help@hand is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improve BB speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by jonny1st View Post
      only suggestion i can reach is altering ur MTU size. U need to monitor the connection both wirelessly and ethernet. Plus if u have both on the computer disable the one u are not using. and wireless encryption will affect it. Basically, ask BT where ur exchange is, go to halfords and rent a trundle wheel. Measure ur distance to the exchange, if it's more than 2000 clicks u won't get max, more than 4000 no mid
      Changing the MTU only helps throughput speeds, not connection rates. And if you ring BT they might be able to give you the actual line lenght, and if you feel ripped off then your paying for usage over speed, the 2mb base only has a 2Gb download limit, or ring tech support and they will be able to give you what speed the line is actually capibality, as for changing connection rates please remember its rADSL (rate adaptive)

    9. #8
      Ashketchup's Avatar
      Ashketchup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improve BB speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by help@hand View Post
      Changing the MTU only helps throughput speeds, not connection rates. And if you ring BT they might be able to give you the actual line lenght, and if you feel ripped off then your paying for usage over speed, the 2mb base only has a 2Gb download limit, or ring tech support and they will be able to give you what speed the line is actually capibality, as for changing connection rates please remember its rADSL (rate adaptive)
      Cheers, but I really want Max, it suites us best out of all the packages. Thankyou for the tip about BT, will give them a ring.

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Improve BB speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Ashketchup View Post
      I'm using a Belkin router.
      ADSL2+ Modem with Wireless-G Router-F5D7633au4A

    11. #10
      Ashketchup's Avatar
      Ashketchup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Improve BB speed?

      Somehow, I very much doubt it's the router.

      If I plugged in the Sky router now, would it help you help me? (confusing, lol) I mean getting the stats and stuff.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION