Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Loose Connection every 12-18mins

    This is a discussion on Loose Connection every 12-18mins within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've had Sky Broadband for awhile now. But i lose connection every 12-18mins. The little icon in the bottom ...

    1. #1
      ColtColin's Avatar
      ColtColin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      Hi,

      I've had Sky Broadband for awhile now. But i lose connection every 12-18mins. The little icon in the bottom right sais im still connected but the duration time counter thing just stops, and my internet stops working completely.

      Any ideas as to why this might be?

      cheers
      C.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      If you are using wireless then make sure you have turned off uPNP in the router menu, "known bug"
      If that dosen't help extract detailed router stats using Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 and post them here and we will check for line errors etc.
      Would be looking for excessive CRC errors, if there are and you are using an extension for the router then try plugging into the test socket behind the BT master socket face plate.

    4. #3
      ColtColin's Avatar
      ColtColin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      Im using lan connection directly from the router. The wireless cuts off at the same time

      Just tried downloading that thing on the link, and it sais error 404 file not found?

      also it sais i need a username/password??
      Last edited by ColtColin; 07-06-07 at 06:18 PM.

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      Strange works for me, clicking on the link from above

      Yeah thats your router password.
      User : Admin and Password Sky if you haven't changed it.

    6. #5
      ColtColin's Avatar
      ColtColin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      Works now that i've enterd a password/username.

      Now what do i have to do?

      where can i find the information i need to post?

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      Sorry, click on the link and it should open a page, then click on "Get detailed stats" It will ask for router password : Username is admin password is sky,
      you will then get a blank screen then press backpage to get to the first screen you saw, then click dowload cfg file. Then open it with wordpad.

      Hope that makes sense.

      Off home in a minute, if you manage to download it post it here and me or someone else will take a look later.

    8. #7
      ColtColin's Avatar
      ColtColin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      Got it

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2694 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.7 10.5
      Attn(dB): 54.0 35.0
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 2720 864
      Rate (Kbps): 2694 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 13(0) 24
      R: 12 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 32 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 36 68
      B: 12 23
      M: 16 8
      T: 10 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 2.4512 7.7037
      L: 718 216
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 37662 37660
      SFErr: 95 1
      RS: 988648 320110
      RSCorr: 30633 0
      RSUnCorr: 530 0

      HEC: 74 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 3850788 1086545
      Data Cells: 68158 19210
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 65 1
      SES: 31 0
      UAS: 14 20
      Total time = 10 min 26 sec
      SF = 37662
      CRC = 95
      LOS = 46
      LOF = 0
      ES = 65
      Latest 1 day time = 10 min 26 sec
      SF = 37662
      CRC = 95
      LOS = 46
      LOF = 0
      ES = 65
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 26 sec
      SF = 37662
      CRC = 95
      LOS = 46
      LOF = 0
      ES = 65
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      does that look ok?

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      The UPnP "bug" doesn't just affect wireless, you'll lose LAN connection too. Connection dropping every 15 minutes is a classic symptom.

      Turn it off in the router first as that's the likely cause. Then you can deal with the rather noisy line you have (100% errored seconds for a start) next.
      Last edited by Saturday; 07-06-07 at 06:37 PM.

    10. #9
      ColtColin's Avatar
      ColtColin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      Alrite UPnP, now turned off. What do i need to do next?

      & you say i have 100% errors? im guessing thats bad :P
      Last edited by ColtColin; 07-06-07 at 07:59 PM.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Loose Connection every 12-18mins

      Well hopefully turning off UPnP will have fixed your regular disconnections.

      Next off is to fix your errors - not 100% errors by the way just at least one error every second. If you want an explanation of what the different errors mean I did a write up for the sticky in the router stats forum.

      Line errors are caused by noise and noise is most often caused by local (i.e. home phone wiring) problems. A test for this is to do a comparison with your test socket by connecting your router directly to the socket which is hidden inside your master socket - assuming you have a NTE5.

      You'll find lots of posts in the cabling and faceplate help forum. Basically the fix is likely to involve not connecting your router via an extension (if that's what you're doing) and possibly fitting a replacement filtered faceplate which is a 15, 10 minute DIY job.

      If you fix your errors you can expect a faster and more stable connection. With your attenuation you could expect ~4500kbps rather than the 2694kbps you currently have.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION