Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Recording noise margin

    This is a discussion on Recording noise margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Does anyboody know of a utility that can be used to record noise margin values over, say a 24-hour period? ...

    1. #1
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Recording noise margin

      Does anyboody know of a utility that can be used to record noise margin values over, say a 24-hour period? I would like to see exactly what is happening during the periods when I am not sat at my computer.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mdod's Avatar
      mdod is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording noise margin

      RouterStats works well; it produces a graph of noise margin and sync speed.

      Internet Software

    4. #3
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Recording noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by mdod View Post
      RouterStats works well; it produces a graph of noise margin and sync speed.

      Internet Software
      Thanks for that information - I'll give it a try.

    5. #4
      jonny1st's Avatar
      jonny1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording noise margin

      just out of curiosity can u post the results u get. Anything that helps diagnose is always welcome
      It doesn't get better than this band lol

    6. #5
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Recording noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by jonny1st View Post
      just out of curiosity can u post the results u get. Anything that helps diagnose is always welcome
      I found the Routerstats utility to be excellent - it works really well with Sky's Netgear DG834GT router. It is free, and installation is very simple. The program provides continuous graphs of download and upload noise margins (and also connection speeds). You can set the sampling interval to anything you want, and it is also possible to copy the graphs to the clipboard, or convert them into a text log of all the data. I think anybody who is trying to get to the bottom of connection problems should have this utility installed on their computer.

    7. #6
      aspect's Avatar
      aspect is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording noise margin

      I know this is an old thread, but for the life of me I cannot find how to set the sampling interval other than at it's default 1min. Can anyone lead me by the nose to it, please?

    8. #7
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording noise margin

      Quote Originally Posted by aspect View Post
      I know this is an old thread, but for the life of me I cannot find how to set the sampling interval other than at it's default 1min. Can anyone lead me by the nose to it, please?
      First click the "Configure" icon - it's top left and looks like a cog wheel. Then select "Graphs" from the tabs at the top of the Configuration window. Then select "Comon Settings" which is the middle tab out of the three which appear up the left hand side of the window. The sample interval is set using the control on the Right hand side of this window.
      Useful Links
      Download RouterStats (useful utility for continuously recording noise margin)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION