Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

    This is a discussion on Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Right folks, thought i would put a little information up for those on the Connect package, in regards to migrating ...

    1. #1
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      Right folks, thought i would put a little information up for those on the Connect package, in regards to migrating to one of the other pacakges.

      Once your exchange is LLU (local Loop Unbundled) you will be automatically migrated to the Mid package. I know this to be true for 5 connect customers, however not so sure for 17 connect customers, though i think it is the same for all connect customers.

      If you find out that your exchange has been unbundled, DO NOT phone up Sky and ask to change. The process is automatic, and by contacting them before, you may cause severe problems. Just remain patient.

      Once you have migrated, you will be contacted by Letter. This will give you a set time period where you can change to the Base or Max package without a problem. I am not sure what the time period is, as i dont deal with migrations at Sky.

      THIS IS THE ONLY TIME YOU WILL BE ABLE TO DOWNGRADE YOUR PACKAGE, SO IF YOU WANT BASE, DO IT WITHIN THE TIME PERIOD.

      If you want to change to a lower package after this time period, you will have to cancel your contract and re-apply, which is hard to do considering you are in a one year contract, or you must wait out your contract and change your package at the renewal date.

      Any Questions?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      If you want to downgrade after your 12 month contract do you still have to cancel and resubscribe?

    4. #3
      jonny1st's Avatar
      jonny1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      If you want to downgrade after your 12 month contract do you still have to cancel and resubscribe?
      here's the stupidity of the packages. There is no system at sky to actually downgrade and process a package without it being cancelled first. Main theme is, if ur on connect the max ur paying anyway is 17 so to be immediately moved to mid at 5 what's the harm, same speed more support same price. If ur on 17 connect, then bargain, 5 same speed and 40GB downloads. Why would u want to downgrade apart from being ultimately cheap. And if u've got broadband but use less than 2GBs in a month why did u get broadband in the first place?
      It doesn't get better than this band lol

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by jonny1st View Post
      here's the stupidity of the packages. There is no system at sky to actually downgrade and process a package without it being cancelled first. Main theme is, if ur on connect the max ur paying anyway is 17 so to be immediately moved to mid at 5 what's the harm, same speed more support same price. If ur on 17 connect, then bargain, 5 same speed and 40GB downloads. Why would u want to downgrade apart from being ultimately cheap. And if u've got broadband but use less than 2GBs in a month why did u get broadband in the first place?
      Because: I am on mid and have got my brother living with me at the moment temporary arrangement and he is hammering the hell out of the bandband, so I was thinking of going on Max as I seem to have a good line. But may well want to go back to mid once he leaves.

      Well you did ask, lol.

    6. #5
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      i was on 17 connect got moved over to MAX in about 10 days after i phoned no letter or anything just noticed my uploading speeds had gone up

    7. #6
      EAC's Avatar
      EAC
      EAC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by indefatigable View Post
      If you find out that your exchange has been unbundled, DO NOT phone up Sky and ask to change. The process is automatic, and by contacting them before, you may cause severe problems. Just remain patient.

      Any Questions?
      That's certainly how its supposed to work, and Sky kept sending me letters even after I'd signed up for Connect saying that my Exchange was due to be unbundled in so many months. Anyway, its now 7 months since my exchange was unbundled and yet still nothing - I'm still on Connect and still paying 17.

      I'm going to phone them soon and ask to be moved over.

      EAC

    8. #7
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by EAC View Post

      I'm going to phone them soon and ask to be moved over.

      EAC
      i just noticed with that broadband checker webpage that max was in my area so rang them up asked to be moved and here i am very happy now

      i wouldnt wait for sky to do it in my opinion if your exchange is enabled get in there ring them they might tell you 24hrs then 29 days lol but its worth it in the end

    9. #8
      Judderman's Avatar
      Judderman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      i just noticed with that broadband checker webpage that max was in my area so rang them up asked to be moved and here i am very happy now

      i wouldnt wait for sky to do it in my opinion if your exchange is enabled get in there ring them they might tell you 24hrs then 29 days lol but its worth it in the end
      I tried this tactic today after seeing my exchange has been unbundled and they turned round and said "its invite only, you will get a letter if you can be moved, and its by no means certain that you will be even put on the service"

      What do I do know, sounds like i've blown my chances as the BBtech says "you can make things worse"

    10. #9
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      Its an automatic process for 5 connect and 17 connect, the Bulk Migration Team within Sky manually put through changes for each customer as exchanges are enabled, this is the only job that team does, but having 100,000 customers or so to move over in the next few months, there may be a slight delay...

    11. #10
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Migrating to BASE, MID OR MAX information!!!

      so why did they move me no hassle when i phoned then has the policy changed in the last couple of weeks or am i the privaliged one out of 1000's the guy even said your going to be on a fantastic service now enjoy it

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION