Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

    This is a discussion on PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; was just gonna post to ask what it means too lol...

    1. #11
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      was just gonna post to ask what it means too lol
      Please take a moment and upgrade your bit torrent client to the latest version.
      Help traffic shaped users by enabling protocol encryption in Az or T



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      Hi john, Not necessarily screwed but who knows what your line profile is if you are on connect and sky may be able to help but bt have to change the line profile, but firstly what package have you signed up to with sky? connect / base / mid / max ? what have sky said to you regarding the package your getting. i.e we can put you on connect for now untill the exchange has been enabled ?..
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    4. #13
      jonny1st's Avatar
      jonny1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      I'm confused a to why ur rate in the wall socket is higher than the rate at ur main socket. These definitely aren't mixed up??? Reason for ur slow connection (on the router stats at least) is cos interleaving is on. THis is real-time error correction and at the same time as WPA encryption slows ur wireless speed ddown because of the constant security packets change, so interleaving slows down the dsl signal. Usually by default interleaving is off unless a lot of errors have been found on the line. This could've been due to analysis completed when u were on extension cable. Ur best bet is to say ur prepared to wait to talk to tier 3 department on hold and get them to do the diagnostics while ur on the phone, it may make a huge difference. As for speed tester sites, there's so much traffic on them that they are never accurate.

      I'm with Virgin media and on my first test i get 1.3megs, next 3.3 then 7. something
      It doesn't get better than this band lol

    5. #14
      johng_uk's Avatar
      johng_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shawbury
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      Saturday,

      Thanks for that mate...Hopefully Sky can sort it for me (but I won't hold my breath!)

      Ian,

      I signed up to the connect package as it was the only one available in my area. I've just called Sky now and they've said that it doesn't state on their computer that my exchange is due an upgrade (it will flag it up to them if the exchange is due upgrading within the next 6 months apparently).

      Jonny1st,

      There definately wasn't a mix up m8 as I named the save files as wireless,socket,main socket as soon as i'd carried out each test.

      I notice my stats were upped when I carried out the 3 back to back tests (prob due to unplugging my Sky+ extension lead) but my download sppeds for COD2 maps etc still went no higher than 210kbps and my connection showed no real significant speed increase.

      Thanks all for your input so far. Do you reckon what I need to do is basically call TS, ask for my case to be forwarded to tier 3 and get them on the phone. Then get them to do a diagnostics and mention the trellis and interleaving issues? Hope they can sort this soon, it's driving me up the wall forking out 17pm for a sub 1.5mb connection!

    6. #15
      johng_uk's Avatar
      johng_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shawbury
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      Just downloaded TCP optimizer on my dinner hour. Ran program.

      Am I right in thinking that all I have to do to get it to function is click: Optimal settings and drag the speed bar to my optimal line speed (i.e. 8000kbps)?

    7. #16
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      no m8 drag bar to 8000 then click on optimal also tcp makes a back up of your old settings so if i was u id put tcp into a folder on the desktop by its self and then run it when u restart pc your old settings will be in that folder u put tcp in just incase your connection is slower
      Please take a moment and upgrade your bit torrent client to the latest version.
      Help traffic shaped users by enabling protocol encryption in Az or T


    8. #17
      johng_uk's Avatar
      johng_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shawbury
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      Cheers m8 I will post my new scores tonight. If that doesn't work I'll have to get on the blower to Sky....Can't wait!!

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      if ur on connect the i strongly suggest getting hrough to tier 2 as they'll do the same checks as tier 3 (and they're not half as busy - could be wrong though)

      as you're on connect, tier 3 will just pass you back to tier 2 as we have no access to exchange equipment and cant change a thing on your line profile. as mentioned its all done by BT. get to tier and they can log a fault to BT to configure the line profile

    10. #19
      johng_uk's Avatar
      johng_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shawbury
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      Ok folks. Having downloaded and run the program "tcp optimizer". Here are my stats using the wireless connection.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7616 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: OFF
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.9 22.0
      Attn(dB): 24.0 16.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 11232 1104
      Rate (Kbps): 7616 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 15
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 16 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 239 15
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0666 9.0000
      L: 1920 128
      D: 16 2
      Counters
      SF: 3849865 3849863
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 261790856 32723835
      RSCorr: 21 14
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1175596293 0
      Data Cells: 695671 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 16 0
      Total time = 18 hours 11 min 10 sec
      SF = 3849865
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 18 hours 11 min 10 sec
      SF = 3849865
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 10 sec
      SF = 39463
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Do these mean anything to anyone??

      Enemy....Thanks for the info. I will aim for tier 2 later when i call.

    11. #20
      johng_uk's Avatar
      johng_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shawbury
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: PLEASE HELP..BBand running so slow!!!!!!

      Guys,

      Judging by the stats posted...What spped do you think I should be getting atm and what spped should my downloads max out at??

      Just gathering as much gen as I can before I call Sky.

      Thanks in advance.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION