Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

    This is a discussion on Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Im on Max (10) Hiya....!. Cant get my head round these stats and when i phoned sky they told me ...

    1. #1
      sniperuk's Avatar
      sniperuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      Im on Max (10)

      Hiya....!. Cant get my head round these stats and when i phoned sky they told me to try another microfilter which had no effect, after that she just seemed puzzled.

      She said i should be on around the 10-13 meg connection. But im only getting 2meg. She tried a phone/line test or something but it didnt work, and she said there was nothing wrong with the exchange.

      Since connection to sky broadband the downstream has remained on 2048 kbps and the upstream has been 416.

      Any ideas guys? Any help would be very greatful


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2048 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 32.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 35.0 23.0
      Pwr(dBm): 16.0 0.8
      Max(Kbps): 9632 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 2048 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 65(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 65 14
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.2424 17.0666
      L: 528 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 193664 193662
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 6584598 823063
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 15903436 0
      Data Cells: 858153 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 25 0
      Total time = 55 min 26 sec
      SF = 193664
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 55 min 26 sec
      SF = 193664
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 26 sec
      SF = 36875
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50928
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by sniperuk; 06-06-07 at 05:04 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      According to your details you are on base.

      Base = Up to 2Mb
      Mid = Up to 8Mb
      Max =16 Mb.

      You would either appear to be getting what you are not paying for or you need to update your details

    4. #3
      sniperuk's Avatar
      sniperuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      thanks, I phoned yesterday and was told tier3 would ring back as i couldn't get through yesterday.

      Do you think that the problem could be that my line can only support 2meg? are my stats ok?

      thanks

    5. #4
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      I think you need to re-read Isitme's response:

      Your Skyuser ID (next to where your avatar would be) suggests that you are on Sky Base which has a connection limit of 2 meg. Do you pay anything for your connection? Base is free, Mid is 5 and Max is 10 in addition to your Sky tv subs.

      If you are on Base, Tier 1, 2 or 3 won't do anything to increase your speed unless you upgrade your package.

    6. #5
      sniperuk's Avatar
      sniperuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      oh im sorry. I am on max (ill try and change where it says base to max). Yes im on max paying 10 per month.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      I'm not an expert on stats by any means, but your very high SNR suggests that you have been capped. Your line may have had errors which would cause the techs to cap it to give you a stable connection, but it looks like it has been done very/too aggressively. One of the real experts may confirm it, but I think you should get on to Sky, try to get to T3, and ask them to lift the cap. You may not get 13, but you should get much better than you are.

    8. #7
      dpearce33's Avatar
      dpearce33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      Hi - Best of luck. Your figures definitely suggest that you have been capped. I have had the same problem for weeks now. After having a reasonable connection for my area (1.5meg) for some time, the service just collapsed to nothing. After a lot of messing around and talking to Sky staff that obviously know nothing about the system, I now appear to have a stable connection again (7 days and counting) with high SNR and low CRC. Only problem now is that they have capped me to 0.5meg which is useless.
      Trawling round this site seems to suggest that you have to put in a lot of time to get any caps removed. Tier 3 have always tried to tell me that the problem is with the line. However, OFCOM say it is Sky's responsibility to resolve this with BT.

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      Yes - no question that you've been capped.

      It may be because you have line errors but if they were that bad that you had to be capped to a fraction of what your line is theoretically capable of supporting then you'd expect some impact on your noise margin from that noise. Your noise margin is huge ( and your max rate on G.DMT is showing as 9632kbps) so your line noise can't be that bad.

      I think the more probable explanation is that you've been set up on Base by mistake. Your upstream and downstream figures are exactly right for that package.
      Last edited by Saturday; 06-06-07 at 07:49 PM.

    10. #9
      jonny1st's Avatar
      jonny1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      definite cap. was there an exchange issue before where u couldn't get connection or anythig like that? That would immediatly lead them to set u to a default profile. A call to tier3 should sor this while ur on the line.
      It doesn't get better than this band lol

    11. #10
      sniperuk's Avatar
      sniperuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky are driving me crazy!!! Can any genius out there help? stats posted

      Hey thanks for your reply guys.

      Well tier 3 phoned back, while i was out, and they told a family member if we was receiving the internet at all because on his system it was coming up as if we weren't connected to the internet.

      He said he would phone back after investigating the problem. Its been a few days now just wait it out for a while.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION