Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!!

    This is a discussion on NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Guys, Has anyone else experienced a similar problem to this!? On bank holiday monday, i suddenly lost my internet connection ...

    1. #1
      ezwookie's Avatar
      ezwookie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!!

      Guys,

      Has anyone else experienced a similar problem to this!?
      On bank holiday monday, i suddenly lost my internet connection and then realised that the phone line dial-tone was also dead - ie no outgoing signal.

      The usual farce of going back and forth between Sky and BT ensued, but then BT finally said they'd come and check it out. But not after they had blamed the Sky netgear router a dozen times - but to be honest, apart from rebooting a few times, the Netgear router has worked fine for me!!

      Anyway, the BT engineers came, didn't require access to my property and left me a message saying people had been "stealing phone lines!! from the ground" Huh!!??

      Howerver, the connection is still down and i've been unable to work for a week now!

      Has anyone experienced this or have any advice as to what i could/should check!!?

      Cheers in advance
      Wooks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!!

      There is not a lot you can check at your end, if the engineer has verified no tone then its down to BT fixing the problem.

      However "stealing phone lines" I can only presume some git is knicking cable from underground, unless he is telling porkies.

      Regards.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!!

      I've heard of gas pipes being nicked from outside walls for the copper "a rather dangerous practise", but never heard of phone lines being taken.
      Last edited by Koala5; 01-06-07 at 05:44 PM.

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!!

      Iv BT has identified the fault its up to them to fix it, Not the END USER! BT's Terms highlight that the End User cannot touch the wiring coming into the property upto the point of the first socket,
      Iv never heard of anything like it :P.. The Mysteries of the Underground

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!!

      IF BT have fixed the PSTN line, chances are they've unjumpered the BB - happens a lot and is annoying tbh...

      we'd have to lag a fault to BT if thats the case to make sure the jumpering for the BB is correct

    7. #6
      ezwookie's Avatar
      ezwookie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!!

      Guys - thanks for the comments.

      But just to let you know, i finally badgered BT to send out an Engineer to check things out and you were right, the problem was BT's - in fact it was a prob at the BT hub on the street, their own engineers had cocked something up when installing new equipment - the engineer also came over to my house to check the line was working and then began to balme my equipment ie phone and router! Jeebus! The phone is from the BT Shop!! lol

      Anyway, its back up and running, the story about 'people stealing lines from the ground' seemed to be absolute rubbish!! - Typical BT.

      Cheers
      Wooks

    8. #7
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!!

      actually...

      its not..

      some thieves tried to nick some of the bacnbone piping from Vispa and hit a gas main and caused a fire/explosion at their manchester HQ - it was in the paper on the news and on the internet

      So not as silly as it sounds..

    9. #8
      jonny1st's Avatar
      jonny1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      115
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: NO Dial Tone - NO Internet Connection!!

      i'm really sorry for saying this but we have a gypsy problem here too. But usually they go for copper pipes not copper wire
      It doesn't get better than this band lol

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION