Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    Should I Upgrade to MAX?

    This is a discussion on Should I Upgrade to MAX? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I currently have Sky mid package. I have suffered various disconnects and now it seems to have gone on ...

    1. #1
      nickbiker's Avatar
      nickbiker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      Hi

      I currently have Sky mid package. I have suffered various disconnects and now it seems to have gone on a slow:

      DownStream Connection Speed 800 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps

      Line Attenuation 56.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.4 db 13.0 db

      I should say, when I first swapped to Sky (from Demon) I was getting 1200kbps or so. But over last month this has suddenly dropped.

      I have adjusted various settings in the router. It is plugged directly to the main socket with no extensions. I have unplugged the telephone, etc., but this has made no difference. The connection is now slow. I have called (& called and emailed ) Sky. Tier 3 are supposed to call me back... nothing yet.

      I have called BT and they say no fault on the line.

      I may get a new shielded RJ11 cable and filter - is this worth it?

      I may try to get BT to fit a master socket (I have an older style socket)?

      When I run a line test I get:

      Line speed capabilities

      Rate adaptive (250k and 500k) : Green
      Fixed Rate (1000k and 2000k) : Amber
      MAX speed (upto 8000k) : Green (3500 kbps)

      250k, 500k and 1000k ADSL is available on this line. 2000k ADSL is not likely to be available on this line.250k, 500k, 1000k, 2000k and 3500k are all available on this line.


      Does this mean, IF I upgrade Sky to the MAX option, will I get 3500kbps - as shown above, as the 800 kbps I am getting at the moment is just slow...

      Thanks for any help / advice.


      Nick


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      nickbiker's Avatar
      nickbiker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      Here are my current stats:

      I am 1.36km from exchange as the crows fly!

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 800 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.2 13.0
      Attn(dB): 56.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 15.6 2.2
      Max(Kbps): 896 1024
      Rate (Kbps): 800 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 26(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 16
      D: 4 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 26 14
      M: 8 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 8.5925 17.0666
      L: 216 120
      D: 4 2
      Counters
      SF: 216014 216012
      SFErr: 10 4
      RS: 1836122 918051
      RSCorr: 493052 190
      RSUnCorr: 12 0

      HEC: 4 2
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 6929860 0
      Data Cells: 200478 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 135 0
      SES: 126 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 hours 1 min 39 sec
      SF = 216014
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 135
      LOF = 0
      ES = 135
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 1 min 39 sec
      SF = 216014
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 135
      LOF = 0
      ES = 135
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 39 sec
      SF = 5882
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 37
      LOF = 0
      ES = 34
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 46
      LOF = 0
      ES = 50
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 36
      LOF = 0
      ES = 35
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51341
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 10

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      Your attenuation is quite high, I wouldnt expect you would benefit alot on terms of speed, You could always upgrade for the extra "Unlimited" Bandwidth and find if your line doesnt cope too well on the ADSL2+ Mode which Sky Max uses you could always use "The Utility" to change over to G.DMT yourself, Which has proven more reliable on longer lines like yours.

    5. #4
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      An attenuation of 56 should allow for 3mbs on whatever package you are one, The noise margin of 6db is what is keeping you from getting a faster speed.

      I would check out the bt phone socket and wiring help thread in my sig and also check out what is causing the noise on your line. It could be a dodgy phone extension / no filters plugged in / dodgy phone or you have more than wires 2 and 5 connected on your master socket. Read a little more into why you noise is only 6db with an 800kbs sync. Ideally you should be connecting at 3mbs with that noise margin of 6db.

      Good luck

      Ian
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      Is there anything wired into the back of your BT socket other than the main cable from BT which should only have 2 wires connected? If not then it seems you have a poor line or are a long way from the exchange. I think upgrading to MAX would make things even more unstable.

    7. #6
      nickbiker's Avatar
      nickbiker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      Quote Originally Posted by IanMax View Post
      An attenuation of 56 should allow for 3mbs on whatever package you are one, The noise margin of 6db is what is keeping you from getting a faster speed.
      Thanks Ian.

      I have an old style main BT socket in the wall (not the Master-Socket type). I have plugged a new filter into this and then the Sky router into that (with a cable with just 2-wires). On the telephone side, I have plugged my telephone, fax and Sky box into the filter. I have tried unplugging that log and it seemed to make no difference.

      I could take the BT facplate off the wall to see if there are any extensions wired to this (I do not use any in the house). My background is electronics engineer/computers, so I would happy to replace it with a new one - perhaps the ADSL nation one (and remove any superfluous wiring at the same time).

      What do you think?

      Your time and help is much appreciated .

      Nick

    8. #7
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      I too have the old style bt box and when i unscrewed the front off i found a spaghetti junction inside, I removed all wires except from the connectors 2 and 5 and all was fine. Also i had a dodgy phone extension which caused problems even though there was no phone plugged in.

      When testing make sure you reboot the router as you normally need to resync to test the things you have changed, i.e when you removed all the other stuff from your phoneline did you reboot your router.

      1 more thing, Every device i have has a filter on it. So i have 2 phones and a sky box. So i use 1 filter in the main socket with a 3 way adapter plugged into the filter and my router plugged in also, Then i got another filter plugged into the extension that leads to the sky box , and 2 more filters plugged into both the other phones so in all i use 4 filters and get a good connection.

      Hope i helped
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    9. #8
      nickbiker's Avatar
      nickbiker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      Hi - I have taken the faceplate off the wall and there are just three wires going to the socket. It all looks ancient and dirty. I reported noise on the line to BT, they suggested replacing the socket with a new Master Socket at 65. Once they have done this, I will refuse to pay, as it is their equipment that is ancient and at fault! Hopefully the engineer will be helpful and check the wiring.

      I have no extensions, and have disconnected everything except the modem and it is still poor!

      BT come on 13th June - I will let you know!

      Thanks

    10. #9
      nickbiker's Avatar
      nickbiker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01483
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      Hi - once BT give me a new master socket, do you think it i worth me changing the faceplate to the XTL-2005 faceplace (ADSL Nation - XTE-2005 - Filtered Master Faceplate)

      and how about shielded cable to the modem, I see Maplin do a good one:

      Ultra High Speed ADSL Cables

      Do you think this would help stability, etc.?

      Thanks for help

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Should I Upgrade to MAX?

      you're better off runnin a longer ethernet cable rather than RJ11, had one person today that went from 8Mbps to 800Kbps!! removing this got full speed back!!

      also, BT aren't at fault for wiring in your house, everything from test socket (or where line enters the house) is the responsibility of the home owner. just so you know...

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION