Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    speed

    This is a discussion on speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have just undone my master socket to try and speed up my connection. am on max package. have mossywell ...

    1. #1
      colinwarren's Avatar
      colinwarren is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: DERBY
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      speed

      i have just undone my master socket to try and speed up my connection. am on max package. have mossywell bouncer helping with dropped connections. have speed showing as 2449 kbps. 6.9db. that is on master socket. any solutions to this as i should be 16meg?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speed

      You will have to post your detailed stats, before anyone can help. Use the Bounce utility to get them.

    4. #3
      colinwarren's Avatar
      colinwarren is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: DERBY
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed

      Here are stats:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 664 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2449 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.9 10.0
      Attn(dB): 52.5 32.5
      Pwr(dBm): 1.1 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 2472 764
      Rate (Kbps): 2449 664
      G.dmt framing
      K: 12(0) 21
      R: 12 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 32 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 36 68
      B: 11 20
      M: 16 8
      T: 10 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 2.4878 7.7068
      L: 656 191
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 67789 67787
      SFErr: 16 1
      RS: 1779488 576189
      RSCorr: 28126 6
      RSUnCorr: 356 0

      HEC: 8 0
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 6395707 1715942
      Data Cells: 155562 15131
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5 1
      SES: 5 0
      UAS: 13 132
      Total time = 18 min 46 sec
      SF = 67789
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 1 day time = 18 min 46 sec
      SF = 67789
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 46 sec
      SF = 13840
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 53949
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: speed



    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speed

      You are showing a lot of errors, this may be why your line is capped. Run the router for a few hours then post again. Check the Cabling and Faceplate for tips on improving your connection.

    7. #6
      colinwarren's Avatar
      colinwarren is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: DERBY
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: speed

      yes will do. how is my line capped? will post later

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speed

      If your line has a lot of errors the techs 'cap' it to reduce the errors and give you a stable connection. It is a bit like pouring water from a wide mouthed jar into a narrow necked bottle - if you pour too quickly it will run down the side and be lost, so you pour slowly to catch it all.

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: speed

      In this case though the line isn't capped - look at the max rate and the noise margin. Were the connection capped the max rate would be much higher than the actual and the noise margin would be higher than the default of 6.9db.


      @colinwarren

      I'm afraid your connection sync is low for two reasons: your attenuation (line length) which limits you to ~5000kbps and noise on your line which is further limiting your speed to the 2449kbps you currently have.

      As advised, you will find much usefull info in the cabling and faceplate help forum. You may also find the first sticky in my signature a useful read.

      PS. Very oddly your ADSL mode is showing as ADSL2. Have you changed this? If not this is the first time I've seen a Sky customer on ADSL2. The norm is ADSL2+ on good quality lines with an attenuation less than ~40db and G.DMT for everyone else.
      Last edited by Saturday; 29-05-07 at 07:04 PM.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: speed

      ^ what he said....

      would appear sales (being the nice chaps they are) prob didn't think to actually let you know that you wouldn't get 16MB (or anywhere near) when you signed up. DSL checks are done at PoS but aren't always told to the EU as it would get them out of a Max package sale

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: speed

      DSL checks are done at PoS but aren't always told to the EU as it would get them out of a Max package sale
      This should stop. When a line is obviously not capable of supporting anything near 16 mbs, the implications should be explained to the customer. In the case of an ISP who only offers 'up to 16', this may be excusable, but for Sky who offer 2, 8 and 16, it is selling under false pretences. Anyone sold MAX under these circumstances should have the right to have their contract downgraded, with no quibbling.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION