Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Adsl2+ ???

    This is a discussion on Adsl2+ ??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys just joined sky BB from Virgin Media. I signed up for the 16MB Max product which i believe ...

    1. #1
      Stuart.Macintyre's Avatar
      Stuart.Macintyre is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSREN (Renfrew)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Adsl2+ ???

      Hi guys just joined sky BB from Virgin Media. I signed up for the 16MB Max product which i believe to be their LLU package which is supposed to be ADSL2+. I have been looking at my router stats and get a high attenuation 44db actually, which indicates im about 4km from the exchange. As the crow flys I'm only 1km from the exchange. I do seem to be connectin at a constant 8096 download and 768 up, not too bad. But what I have also noticed is that I am on G.DMT and not adsl2+. Is this normal? any thoughts would be wolcome.

      Thx in advance.

      Stuart


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RubberJohny's Avatar
      RubberJohny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dudley (CMDD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adsl2+ ???

      They may have put you on this to give you a stable connection, post your full stats and im sure the experts on here will help.


      PSN ID: BlacksiteUK

    4. #3
      Stuart.Macintyre's Avatar
      Stuart.Macintyre is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSREN (Renfrew)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adsl2+ ???

      thx for the reply. here are my stats.

      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 44.0 28.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.9
      Max(Kbps): 9184 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Adsl2+ ???

      Hi Stuart, your full stats are required, use this utility to get them.
      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4
      cheers
      dave


    6. #5
      Stuart.Macintyre's Avatar
      Stuart.Macintyre is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSREN (Renfrew)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adsl2+ ???

      Cheers.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 44.0 28.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.9
      Max(Kbps): 9184 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 6883073 6883071
      SFErr: 744 66
      RS: 936097964 58506103
      RSCorr: 8060030 462
      RSUnCorr: 11794 0

      HEC: 568 40
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2234263923 0
      Data Cells: 2418577 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1346 0
      SES: 91 0
      UAS: 1015 0
      Total time = 1 days 59 min 26 sec
      SF = 20443238
      CRC = 2590
      LOS = 94
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1346
      Latest 1 day time = 59 min 26 sec
      SF = 209840
      CRC = 22
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 26 sec
      SF = 50990
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082380
      CRC = 571
      LOS = 20
      LOF = 0
      ES = 413
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Adsl2+ ???

      Cheers Stuart, as you say your sync speed is about right for the attenuation. You do have errors on your line and as adsl2+ is more sensitive to errors they would surely increase if you were changed over. As rj said they will have put you on gmdt as your connection will be more stable. Check out the cabling / faceplate section of this website for info on how to reduce the errors which in most cases are caused by internal wiring / extensions etc.
      dave


    8. #7
      Stuart.Macintyre's Avatar
      Stuart.Macintyre is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSREN (Renfrew)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adsl2+ ???

      Thx for the info Dave. I am waiting on a new master socket ,a proper BT one with logo. Yes i know im not supposed to touch that but the one there looks ancient and has the old T logo on it. I am also waiting for an adsl face plate to arrive to split the signal. I do already have a hard wired cat5 extension to my modem that is only about 3m long. This will should help with the snr and some errors. But i still dont understand why the attenuation is so high, i do only live 1km from the exchange. Must be a long cable route they take or maybe some noise from other services?

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Adsl2+ ???

      As you say it could be the route the cable takes, my exchange is around 500 metres away but my att suggests more like 1.5 km so it probably goes up and down a couple of streets before it gets to me. You will be okay with the hard wired cat5 extension, i've done the same but mines closer to 10m.

      dave


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION