Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    My broadband wipes out my USB ports..HELP !!!!

    This is a discussion on My broadband wipes out my USB ports..HELP !!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello everybody, i have recently switched to Sky Broadband and after initial setup issues with windows updates and the McAfee ...

    1. #1
      scousa_37's Avatar
      scousa_37 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01793
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy My broadband wipes out my USB ports..HELP !!!!


      Hello everybody, i have recently switched to Sky Broadband and after initial setup issues with windows updates and the McAfee free software it seems to be ok (apart from being slow avg 512mps). The big issue is since i have installed my netgear wireless router and Sky Broadband software i am unable to use any other of my USB ports. I attempted to install my printer/scanner, my webcam, wireless keyboard/mouse and mobile phone software. each one causes the Sky broadband AND Netgear software do disappear completely, I NEVER had this issue when i had my old AOL package which can only leave the problem with the Sky Broadband, and or Netgear software.
      I have Windows Xp (SP2) fully updated.
      Does ANYBODY have this problem also, or does anybody know how to solve it.
      many thanks in advance
      STEVE


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: My broadband wipes out my USB ports..HELP !!!!

      Hi

      AFAIK there have been no reported issues of this happening.

      Does it do the same with the McAffee disabled? or without the Sky router connected?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      scousa_37's Avatar
      scousa_37 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01793
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My broadband wipes out my USB ports..HELP !!!!

      Hi, thanks for the swift response. it does it with McAfee on and off and with Router connected and dis-connected
      Don't know what to do!

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: My broadband wipes out my USB ports..HELP !!!!

      Are you connecting the router through ethernet? (the cable that come with it) or any other way?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My broadband wipes out my USB ports..HELP !!!!

      In my experience this happens if the computer's BIOS has reset to Failsafe Mode. On most computers to examine the BIOS settings you depress the DEL key after switching the computer on -- but usually the onscreen startup messages include instructions. Once in look for any refernce to USB among the listings -- don't change anything you don't understand.

      Another possibility is an IRQ clash with some new piece of hardware -- did you add a PCI card wireless adapter or Ethernet adapter ?

    7. #6
      scousa_37's Avatar
      scousa_37 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01793
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My broadband wipes out my USB ports..HELP !!!!

      Thankyou Fihart, i will have a look at the bios thing.
      ps what is an irq clash i added a netgear dongle to the usb 2.0 port
      (a netgear wg111T 108mps) this is how the router connects

    8. #7
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My broadband wipes out my USB ports..HELP !!!!

      have you tried plugging the netgear USB2.0 wifi adaptor into a POWERED (on with a mains supply) USB hub. As it maybe that it's drawing more power than your PC can supply, hence the rest of the usb devices not working.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION