Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Attenuation on line ?

    This is a discussion on Attenuation on line ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; How does attenuation on the line effect your speed ? what does higher or lower figure mean ? and if ...

    1. #1
      jaye944's Avatar
      jaye944 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Attenuation on line ?

      How does attenuation on the line effect your speed ?

      what does higher or lower figure mean ?

      and if not good can you improove it ?

      ta


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      JED's Avatar
      JED
      JED is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GEDLING
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Attenuation on line ?

      The lower the line attenuation the better and you can't really do anything about it unless you move closer to the exchange (however Tier 3 support did do something to my line the other day and the attenuation did improve by 1dB).

      The higher the noise margin the better, although too high suggests that the line has been capped and could go higher. My noise margin with a capped line was sometimes upwards of 20dB when it only needs to be around 7dB to be stable. If it drops below that (which it can do especially during the evening) the router can lost its connection. However, I am using a different Netgear router (different to the one Sky supply) and that seems to stay connected even when the noise margin drops to 0dB sometimes

    4. #3
      jaye944's Avatar
      jaye944 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Attenuation on line ?

      thankxs Jed

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Attenuation on line ?

      Quote Originally Posted by JED View Post
      (however Tier 3 support did do something to my line the other day and the attenuation did improve by 1dB).
      Movin from ADSL2+ profile to G.DMT profile will improve your attenuation by 1 to 1.5db (and vice versa).

    6. #5
      lidad66's Avatar
      lidad66 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Attenuation on line ?

      thanks for that interesting and well explained
      im moving to max next week from connect will i have any benefits besides the no download limit .. was wondering what sky do to change you from connect to max would be interested to know..

      thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION