Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    My ventnor Stats after 7 days

    This is a discussion on My ventnor Stats after 7 days within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi all great forum! the first day i connected at about 4500kbps which stayed connected for about 15mins then the ...

    1. #1
      dunker's Avatar
      dunker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ventnor
      Broadband ISP: 8meg i think
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      wroxall
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My ventnor Stats after 7 days

      hi all great forum!

      the first day i connected at about 4500kbps which stayed connected for about 15mins then the internet seemed to just stop so i kept on having to reboot alot, came here did lots of reading and turned off upnp and wireless, set up some ports for gaming/sharing etc and over the last week the speed has been slowly dropping to 2meg then this seventh day it's gone upto 2.5meg woohoo and rock solid stable

      i've been doing a reboot about once every 12 hours or so incase there's some kind of training period, not sure what i'm on, the guy on the phone said it was 8meg unlimited d/l?

      i've included my stats here, my attn is at 15 today but some days it's at 60 which is odd? it seems my router is most stable at around 11-15 snr.

      our master face plate has a "T" on it and looking inside i can see a group of wires at the back through a hole but can't see where they're connected to so i can't see if just 2 and 5 or a,b are connected but on the extension i'm using upstairs i can see quite alot, 5 wires connected into a pcb thing that has 1,2,3,4,5,6.

      coming from a modem, 2meg is great but of course faster and stable would be better

      what does "Status: Showtime Channel: INTR" and "Training Status: Showtime" mean?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2592 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.6 15.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.8 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 2816 912
      Rate (Kbps): 2592 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 82(0) 15
      R: 12 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 82 15
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 2.1445 9.0000
      L: 664 128
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 2883296 2883294
      SFErr: 3872 68
      RS: 98032072 24507999
      RSCorr: 80764740 188
      RSUnCorr: 17749 0

      HEC: 2516 36
      OCD: 24 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 299611835 0
      Data Cells: 8219955 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 978 0
      SES: 334 0
      UAS: 13 0
      Total time = 13 hours 37 min 12 sec
      SF = 2883296
      CRC = 3872
      LOS = 572
      LOF = 0
      ES = 978
      Latest 1 day time = 13 hours 37 min 12 sec
      SF = 2883296
      CRC = 3872
      LOS = 572
      LOF = 0
      ES = 978
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 12 sec
      SF = 25466
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 18
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2


      cheers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: My ventnor Stats after 7 days

      On the master socket, behind the faceplate there should be a phone type socket to the right, try plugging your router in there and then get your stats.

      At the moment you have synced at 2592 which is about 2.5mb.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      tdbsolutions's Avatar
      tdbsolutions is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      185
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My ventnor Stats after 7 days

      Not sure what BB service you have but on some there is a training period where your router and exhange will synch until best speed gained.

      You seem to have errors on your line but testing via the test socket will show is noise is on the line or in your internal wiring.

      Keep plugging away and it'll come together in the end, mine did and look

      One day you are the pigeon, but most days just the statue ...

    5. #4
      dunker's Avatar
      dunker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ventnor
      Broadband ISP: 8meg i think
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      wroxall
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My ventnor Stats after 7 days

      here's tonights stats, as you can see the Attn has risen to 60db, i thought this was usually always the same?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2464 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.6 16.0
      Attn(dB): 60.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.7 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 2688 916
      Rate (Kbps): 2464 448

      some nights it's Attn(db)15 and like tonight it's 60, it's like the exchange keeps moving or is that a different stat?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My ventnor Stats after 7 days

      The 15.5 in your previous stats is a bug in the router software. Rebooting gets rid of it. The 60 you see is probably the correct one. It is very high, so you are probably a long way from the exchange and/or have a very bad line.

    7. #6
      dunker's Avatar
      dunker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ventnor
      Broadband ISP: 8meg i think
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      wroxall
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My ventnor Stats after 7 days

      yeah Ventnor is about 4-5km's away so i think you're right about being far away, oh well like i've said 2meg is sooooo much better than my old 56k modem hehe and pings in steam and gtr2 are good at about 45-55ms at their best, best i used to get was 350ms

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: My ventnor Stats after 7 days

      Have you tried using the Test socket yet? If there is an improvement there, you can probably squeeze a bit more out of it with some improvements to your internal wiring.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION