Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

    This is a discussion on Wireless ok, wired not working, please help. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, my sky was activated on Monday and I'm trying to see if it is for me before my 8 ...

    1. #1
      Heybunny's Avatar
      Heybunny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ecclesfield (SLEF)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      Hi, my sky was activated on Monday and I'm trying to see if it is for me before my 8 days run out, as I play online games.

      Our Nintendo Wii picked up the wireless connection straightaway, however I'm having problems with my wired connection on the PC.

      Basically it is a 'Local Area Connection' that is displayed as 'connected', but I cannot connect to the Internet. Sky had me on the phone for an hour earlier and it didn't help at all. Can anyone offer any advice please?

      ps- sorry for any typos, I'm having to post from the Wii with the remote.

      EDIT: I just tried it on the laptop with no problems, but it randomly crashed (it does that) before I could check anything, so I guess it's a problem with my main PC.
      Last edited by Heybunny; 23-05-07 at 01:09 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      When connected by wire to your main PC, does the corresponding light on the router light up? ie number 3 etc etc

      If you use IE try the following:

      Go to tools<internet options<connections<make sure never dial a connection is ticked<click on Lan Settings<make sure all 3 boxes on left are unticked, then try again.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Heybunny's Avatar
      Heybunny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ecclesfield (SLEF)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      When connected by wire to your main PC, does the corresponding light on the router light up? ie number 3 etc etc

      If you use IE try the following:

      Go to tools<internet options<connections<make sure never dial a connection is ticked<click on Lan Settings<make sure all 3 boxes on left are unticked, then try again.
      Yes, it lights up with both, I've only tried with the '1' port.

      I have those settings, even though I use Firefox.

      Could this problem be linked to my wireless adapter I recently installed? It can see the wireless connection, but it can't connect anyway as it doesn't work with WPA.

      EDIT: My router stats. I managed to get on the laptop and get these if they are of any use.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 68449 163924 0 181 4554 13:24:02
      LAN 10M/100M 20526 14641 0 478 50 14:20:19
      WLAN 11M/54M 148423 56855 0 3881 155 14:20:09

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 15.0 db

      I'm beginning to think this is a port problem - like I haven't opened one up or something, I've never had to do this before.
      Last edited by Heybunny; 23-05-07 at 01:22 PM.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      Do you by any chance have a firewall installed on your PC?

      What version of windows are you using?

      If you right click on the Local Internet connection and then click status what does it say there?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Heybunny's Avatar
      Heybunny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ecclesfield (SLEF)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Do you by any chance have a firewall installed on your PC?

      What version of windows are you using?

      If you right click on the Local Internet connection and then click status what does it say there?

      1. Yes, I am using the McAfee that came with my Welcome Pack. It's been disabled though. The same things are blocked from my old Mcafee.
      It might be worth noting that the working laptop doesn't have a firewall installed.

      2. Windows XP Home, Service pack 2.

      3. General tab:
      (status)
      Duration: 2:30:30 (I only just plugged the ethernet back in though. o_o)
      Speed: 100.0 Mbps

      Sent 9 packets - Recieved 0 packets

      Support tab

      Address type: Automatic private address.
      IP: 169.254.91.221
      Subnet default mask: 255.255.0.0
      Default gateway: blank

      "Windows did not detect a problem with this connection."

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      Address type: Automatic private address.
      IP: 169.254.91.221
      Subnet default mask: 255.255.0.0
      Default gateway: blank

      Is your problem.

      1) Go to Local Connection right click on it and then click properties.

      2) Scroll down to find Internet Protocol - highlight it and then click on properties

      3) Tick use the following IP address

      4) Type 192.168.0.2 in IP Address

      5) Type 255.255.255.0 in Subnet Mask

      6) Type 192.168.0.1 in Default Gateway

      7) Tick use the following DNS server

      8) Type 192.168.0.1

      9) Click OK and try again - I would switch the wireless (or laptop off)




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Heybunny's Avatar
      Heybunny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ecclesfield (SLEF)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      Hmm, it's still not working with that either. The laptop just has to do it all automatic and it got online with no problems.

      PS: Thank you very much for the replies.

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      Try rebooting your PC and keep the laptop turned off for now.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Heybunny's Avatar
      Heybunny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ecclesfield (SLEF)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      Hm, that didn't do anything. I also cannot get the Wii online anymore either. Should I manually put details in rather than having it use automatic?

      Could it be that I need to open a port or something? It seems to have no problems sending data out, but can't recieve anything back.
      With my last ISP I didn't use a router so I didn't have to worry about any of this. :P
      Last edited by Heybunny; 23-05-07 at 05:27 PM.

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Wireless ok, wired not working, please help.

      Try reversing what you have done and put them on auto, turn off the Wii and the laptop, reboot the router and your pc. Your PC should really pick up the IP automatically.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION