Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

    This is a discussion on Sky Max package running at 4mbit? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, I just had Sky Broadband Max fitted today and sadly I am only getting a DownStream Connection Speed ...

    1. #1
      Simcut's Avatar
      Simcut is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hertford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      Hi guys,

      I just had Sky Broadband Max fitted today and sadly I am only getting a DownStream Connection Speed of 4064 kbps.....I know it says up to 16mbit but I really thought it was going to be a bit better than 4mbit?

      An engineer turned up today and installed it all for me and I installed the router and got it working.

      I am using WIRED ethernet for my internet.

      Please can somebody help me? I'm hoping someone will know what is wrong with my line/setup. If its definitely only going to be 4mbit I get with Sky I'm going to cancel my contract (I have 8 days to do it!).

      If you want me to run any tests or copy and paste anything please let me know.

      Thanks in advance

      Simon

      P.S. Hello all! registered here today, looks like a great site


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      JED's Avatar
      JED
      JED is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GEDLING
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      What is your line attenuation? It might be that 4Mb is the best you will get unfortunately.

    4. #3
      Simcut's Avatar
      Simcut is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hertford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      Dont know mate, how do I find that out?

    5. #4
      JED's Avatar
      JED
      JED is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GEDLING
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      Log onto the routers (192.168.0.1) username SKY, password ADMIN (by default, but good idea to change them and the router's IP address).

      Click on ROUTER STATUS

      Click on STATISTICS

      This will provide you with a basic attenuation and noise figure margin - you'll find lots of threads on this forum which explain what they are but basically you want the lower attenuation figure as possible (mine is 45dB which I think should provide about 8Mb) some people's are as low as 30dB, some in the 60s. The noise margin should be around 6.9 to 7dB I think. If it is very high (mine was sometimes 15 to 20dB, then chances are the line has been capped by Sky to provide better stability). I think it is often preferred to have a slower connection but one which is more reliable. If the noise margin drops to below 5dB ish the connection will be dropped - although using an older Netgear router, my noise margin was 0dB the other night and it hung on in there.

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      Use this Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 to extract your detailed router stats and post them here. Best done after router up and running for a few hours, Router log in = admin password = sky. You will need to backpage to the first screen and download results then open them with with wordpad.

    7. #6
      Simcut's Avatar
      Simcut is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hertford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      Okay, will give that a go now.

      Incase this is useful for you or anyone else I am 1.50km from my Exchange

    8. #7
      JED's Avatar
      JED
      JED is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GEDLING
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      Well, the checker says that I am 1.3km from the exchange, but that is as the crow flies. Given my figure of around 45dB, I think I can probably double this really.

      You will probably find the same, but if you have figures between 45 to 50dB, I should think you could get a bit more than 4Mb. Other things to try are sticking the router in the BT test socket located behind the front plate - this might give you better performance.

    9. #8
      Simcut's Avatar
      Simcut is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hertford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      I tried to run that utility but it seemed to give bugger all result wise..... I'll just copy and paste the statistics page instead

    10. #9
      Simcut's Avatar
      Simcut is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hertford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      Okay I've looked at the statistics and the info is as follows:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4064 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 13.0 db

    11. #10
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sky Max package running at 4mbit?

      Your attenuation is quite high, try getting your detailed stats with my link above lets see how that looks.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION