Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 37

    Do I leave Sky?

    This is a discussion on Do I leave Sky? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I think its safe to say my net is just terrible. You can say that again! Were these stats taken ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Do I leave Sky?

      I think its safe to say my net is just terrible.
      You can say that again!
      Were these stats taken from your Master socket? It would be better if you can try from the Test socket behind the Master faceplate. This means you are checking the line, with no interference from your internal wiring.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Skeletore's Avatar
      Skeletore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portsmouth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Portsmouth
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I leave Sky?

      lol, yep its in my test socket in my mastersocket with nothing else connected, no extensions. tried it with two different routers on two different computers and still the same. grrr, wish sky would hurry up on the phone, there still down

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Do I leave Sky?

      Then I am afraid it is your phone line and there is nothing Sky can do except ask BT to fix it. You could be in for a long wait depending on the fault and then again, it may just be a plug in the exchange that needs pushed in properly.

    5. #24
      tdbsolutions's Avatar
      tdbsolutions is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      185
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I leave Sky?

      Try the BT noisy line test, dial 170707 and if you hear any noise then that could be the problem. Call BT and report a voice fault, don't mention ADSL or broadband.
      One day you are the pigeon, but most days just the statue ...

    6. #25
      Skeletore's Avatar
      Skeletore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portsmouth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Portsmouth
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Woohoo!!!

      Woohoo!!! well finally, 6 or so weeks later and 3rd engineer lucky, he manages to fix it.

      He tested from outside my house, same speed, tested from my local box, same speed again. tested at my exchange it was synching at 8mb, he said thats why no one could see a fault, he changed the wires over or somein and now my speed is just over 7mb.

      so from 160 to 7,232 w00t. I am happy, damn u BT (do i bill them for all my phone calls?)

      here are my new stats, I have had it running for about 45mins now and already have a problem, Im thinking I may need to be capped because my download speed is slow, check out my SNR. According to speed tests, my download is 120 and my upload is about 360, but using my torrent software I struggle to get higher than 15kbps at the moment and its configured correctly.

      Should i wait it out a little, here are my stats so you can check. Also if i was to cap it, what speed? I do want the maximum possible, thanks for the support about all this xxx

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7232 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 4.7 23.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 25.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 7264 1108
      Rate (Kbps): 7232 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 227(0) 15
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 227 15
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 1824 128
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 175670 175668
      SFErr: 44 0
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 29 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 50930375 0
      Data Cells: 237171 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 35 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 48 0
      Total time = 51 min 9 sec
      SF = 175670
      CRC = 44
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 35
      Latest 1 day time = 51 min 9 sec
      SF = 175670
      CRC = 44
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 35
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 9 sec
      SF = 21702
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 24
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 48048
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 10
      Last edited by Skeletore; 30-05-07 at 03:21 PM.

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Do I leave Sky?

      Your Max and Rate speeds are almost identical to mine and I regularly get 5-6000kbps. Your SNR is very low. Try rebooting the router a few times, see if you can get it up.

      I don't use torrents or p2p, but I believe the download speed depends a lot on who is uploading. In addition, on Connect, I think such services are throttled by Sky.

    8. #27
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Do I leave Sky?

      I think you mean throttled by BT, Connect is a rebadged BT product.

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Do I leave Sky?

      Could be, but I know with Plusnet, also on BT ADSLMax, the ISP did the throttling, not BT. I don't think it is in BT's interest to throttle another ISPs connections as they are paid by the GB. The more the ISP uses the more BT get paid. If BT are doing it, I think it will be on Sky's instructions.

    10. #29
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Do I leave Sky?

      True, but why would they throttle Connect but not any of there other packages?
      Wouldn't BT try to downgrade packages they are selling to other providers in order to promote there own unthrottled package's? Maybe Dont know for sure just my view on things

    11. #30
      Skeletore's Avatar
      Skeletore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portsmouth
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Portsmouth
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Do I leave Sky?

      right, been a few hours now (reset the router a few times too for change)and my stats have changed. I think my Downstream SNR is whats causing the slow downstream now

      the results from Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed is:
      DOWNLOAD SPEED 133
      UPLOAD SPEED 353

      not only torrents is downloads 15kbps, also website downloads from like microsoft, youtube are still at this speed. and surfing the net still isnt instantaneous. my new stats, again low downstream SNR, upstream is fine

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7104 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 5.9 23.0
      Attn(dB): 42.0 25.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.7 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 7136 1100
      Rate (Kbps): 7104 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 223(0) 15
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 223 15
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 1792 128
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 39874 39872
      SFErr: 8 0
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 5 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 11357012 0
      Data Cells: 87684 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 7 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 16 0
      Total time = 11 min 39 sec
      SF = 39874
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Latest 1 day time = 11 min 39 sec
      SF = 39874
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 39 sec
      SF = 39874
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION