Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
    Results 81 to 90 of 135

    Sync speed & Noise margin

    This is a discussion on Sync speed & Noise margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Be glad you have that!...

    1. #81
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Be glad you have that!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #82
      brucemac's Avatar
      brucemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have been having the same problem,

      I have been through to Tier 3 on many occasions they just advised to drop the speed on my line and then i would leave it and then the next night the same thing would happen, I would then call them back and then they would reduce my speed again and then the next day the same.

      Have been on 1mb for about a week and going to ask them to max it out again and see what happens seems to be the common theme to what has been happening here!

      Speeds drop and connection freezes and have to restart router and then go through the process again!

    4. #83
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Annie, so what have they actually done to your line?

    5. #84
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      As in the PM.

      They moved me over to ADSL and not ADSL2+ and capped at 8Mb though I'll never get more than 4Mb.

      Apparently ADSL should be more stable.

      I've heard reports of Duff exchange equipment in the London area so I can only cross my fingers and wait until 7pm/8pm.

      Wish me luck.

    6. #85
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Is there any way the end user can tell if they're on ADSL2+, as opposed to ADSL?

      spcdust

    7. #86
      Julian's Avatar
      Julian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Could someone please help me understand how ADSL noise margin relates to ADSL2+ noise margin and what sort of prediction my current noise margin offers for a Sky Max connection.

      I am currently using UK Online 8Mb service and my Actiontec router is currently reporting my SNR Margin as 3 downstream and 7 upstream. This is actually reasonably good, I have seen it as low as 2 down & 3 up.

      From reading various threads this would appear to be catastrophic and an ADSL speed predictor I tried (can't remember the URL) says that I should expect 512Kb connection speed at best. Well, I hardly ever get disconnects and am typically synced at 7200Kbs down and 768 up (this is my current sync speed). Speed test sites typically show my effective download speeds at about 6500Kbs so the sync speed seems correct.

      What gives with my low SNR figures? Is this something different to the noise margin that you all talk about here? Should I be worried? Maybe it's just a case of my Actiontec router mis-reporting the figures?

      I'm 1.6km from my exchange, as the crow flies, but there is also a major road running almost dead straight between me and the exchange and, since I suspect BT like to lay their wires along roads and pavements, I suspect my wire length is pretty close to 1.6km too. My internal wiring is lousy and will be optimized if/when I go Sky Max. Right now my Actiontec is plugged into an extension socket rather than the master socket and, even then, it is connected to the extension socket via a 5 metre ADSL cable. When I go Sky Max I'll get my builder to drill a hole in a wall into the cupboard with my master BT socket in so that I can site the ADSL router right next to the master socket and run an ethernet cable to it. I think I'll also cut the orange ring wire since I've seen good reports of that helping sync speeds.

      - Julian

    8. #87
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      Right!

      The Sky router has now been boxed up.

      7:19pm My SNR dropped to under 2db whilst I was dong the btiopenworld speed test. the download speed dropped to 900bps thats not K and then when to 0bps.

      I will shortly be on the phone to cancel.

    9. #88
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Julian: For ADSL fixed speed, the higher the SNR the better. For ADSL Max/ADSL2+, the lower the better. However, with a lower SNR you can get disconnections. This becomes a bigger problem at night when most peoples SNR drops quite a few db. If it goes too low the connection will drop. The more SNR you have the slower speed you get, and vice versa.

      You can outright choose what kind of line you want - fast or stable. If you have hacked the firmware, you should be able to find a middle ground which provides a fast enough speed, but with as high enough SNR to keep your connection stable throughout each day.

    10. #89
      Tony_J's Avatar
      Tony_J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Now I'm confused. Why is a poorer SNR figure better for ADSL Max ?

      I can see how the higher attenuation figure you have, the slower speed you get. I would have thought the higher the signal/noise ratio, the better and faster the possible connection speed whatever type of ADSL you have.

      Hope the answer isn't too technical if anyone wants to reply.

    11. #90
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      OK here is my under standing of it. I am new to this and so forgive me I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong.

      Attenuation does indeed affect max possible speed, but SNR plays a part in this way: When you reboot your router, it makes contact with the exchange and begins negotiating your speed. It does this by working from your SNR. The ISP sets a target usually between 7 and 9db. The negotiation reaches the highest speed it can around the target SNR. If you regularly get unstability at that speed the ISP can raise the SNR target effectively lowering your connection speed, but increasing stability.

      Low or dropping SNR can cause loss of signal, either intermitent or requiring a reboot. Your SNR will always sync lower on ADSL due to this negotiation process. As for the drop outs some routers work on low SNRs better than others, from the post we have seen about drop outs the Sky router is not one of the better ones in this respect.

      I hope this makes sense.

     

     
    Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION