Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 14 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast
    Results 71 to 80 of 135

    Sync speed & Noise margin

    This is a discussion on Sync speed & Noise margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Found another pattern that may help diagnose this problem. SNR starts to drop 6:30pm and will make the modem drop ...

    1. #71
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      Found another pattern that may help diagnose this problem.

      SNR starts to drop 6:30pm and will make the modem drop out beteen 7pm & 8pm.

      The SNR will start creeping back up again at about 10pm

      One other thing; My attenuation is usually 51db but has been know to go up to 58db after a reboot.

      Should attenuation fluctuate? as 7db is quite a difference!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      martyn's Avatar
      martyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by anniebrion View Post

      One other thing; My attenuation is usually 51db but has been know to go up to 58db after a reboot.

      Should attenuation fluctuate? as 7db is quite a difference!
      My attenuation went from around 60 to 15.5 tonight ! Can't be good ?

    4. #73
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      mine varies from the morning to the night and i sometimes lose my connection for a few seconds but no locks up

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3744 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 29.0 db
      Noise Margin 10.2 db 22.0 db




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #74
      vin's Avatar
      vin
      vin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have similar problem.
      I connect at 700kbs - 900kbs. I should be getting 2.4mbs.
      I've migrated from BTYahoo where I have a solid 1mb link for years.
      My connection drops periodically throughout the day.
      I spoke to t3 on Monday and although they were friendly they were unable to help. I'm calling them again tonight.


      >>ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      >>Connection Speed 832 kbps 192 kbps
      >>Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      >>Noise Margin 9.7 db 8.0 db

    6. #75
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      I think they are overestimating the speeds for people who are over 2.5K from the exchange just to get their business

    7. #76
      vin's Avatar
      vin
      vin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Cheers Annie

      I was running happily on 1mb with BT for years. If if plug into the master test socket I can sometimes get a 2mb connection but it doesn't authenticate. If I plug my old linksys router in I get 1000+kbs everytime but I don't know the username and password (and I daren't try the firmware upgrade) so it must be something to do with the router.

      I'll see what they say tonight

    8. #77
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I am not sure, I am getting higher sincs than they advised me of? Perhaps the sales team needs to be trained to make it more clear that the figure they give is a guesstimate and guidline at best.

    9. #78
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      But when your down the slower end of the spped scale a 1.5Mb error in the guesstimation is quite a large %age of spedd that is lots

      Maybe they should be more realistic and give us the lower figure because anyone who gets higher than their original estimate will be chuffed to bits. But the other way just makes it look like your being short changed

    10. #79
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      It is why so many people prefer Cable to ADSL, the line stability is rarely affected on cable. ADSL is sensitive to many environmental factors beyond the control of Sky, us and BT

    11. #80
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      At the moment I can get my 4Mb cable connection by changing the settings on my wireless card

     

     
    Page 8 of 14 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION