Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 135

    Sync speed & Noise margin

    This is a discussion on Sync speed & Noise margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've only had Sky 4 days and every day I have had a loss of Internet at about 7:30 about ...

    1. #41
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      I've only had Sky 4 days and every day I have had a loss of Internet at about 7:30 about 30minutes before the street lights come on.

      I can usually reboot the router in the morning to up the sync speed slightly then 7:30ish down it goes. I'm still waiting for my tier 3 call back that I was promissed I would get today (I'll not hold my breath).


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Well I shall look out for any obvious electrical activity when it dies again tonight. However, as I mentined before, the ADSL signal seems fine: it's the PPP connection that goes, so I suspect that it's a problem at Sky.

    4. #43
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      I've been told Tier 3 are now looking into my problem, though I cannot talk to them direct I'm having to relay via Customer Services.

      I should know today if I'm cancelling Sky or going to SkyBB Base 0 per month.

    5. #44
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      I'm in exactly the same boat - max speed is less that 8MB even though I was told at the time of sale the line would take 13MB and I'm paying for the 8MB to 16MB service. I'll probably drop to the 2MB to 8MB service if they can't nail this one and save myself a fiver a month to spend on, let's see, a journey on the London Underground?

    6. #45
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It is weird that we all have exactly the same problem. PPP connection lost but router stays sync'd very weird... I would say it's a problem with sky config, but surely more people would be complaining?

      IS THERE ANYONE ELSE READING THIS FORUM like MOSSYWELL?

      If so sign up and let us know, I guess it would be helpful if we can say to sky that there are others having the problem?

      Who knows maybe we are all set up on a particular gateway that they have setup to reboot or do something funny around then?

      Hopefully now Annie has go through to the "Tier 3" people we can get some answers?

    7. #46
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      I've still not spoken to tier 3 only customer services.

      It's been 3 hours since they said teir 3 were looking at the problem.

      If it takes over 3 hour for each user having problems then no wonder they are snowed under.

    8. #47
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      Anyone getting the customer support agent are busy call back message on the 0870 number call the 0800 number.

      I called and they said there was a 48hr callback logged on my account though I've already been waiting since Saturday

      I said I want a resolution one way or the other today!

      Even if I have the freebie 2Mb service and stick the Xbox360 on it i'll be happy.

      The problem is the waiting for calls and the unknowing that winds me up

      I THINK I'VE GOT MORE CHANCE OF GETTING A CALL FROM THE POPE THAN THE TIER 3 DEPT. Sorry about the caps I noticed after typing and can't be bothered to re-type
      Last edited by Annie UK; 11-09-06 at 03:12 PM.

    9. #48
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      I wonder if it's anything to do with the fact that although LLU has taken place, IPStream is still enabled (the latter gets switched off a few days after LLU unbundling). Just some idle musings... My IPStream is due to be killed some time today, so I'll soon know for sure.

    10. #49
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      My line was ADSL free before Sky came along.

      Nice try though.

    11. #50
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I don't know but I would imaging moving your line from BT to LLU basically means they unplug you form one port in the exchange and connect you to another one?

     

     
    Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION