Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 135

    Sync speed & Noise margin

    This is a discussion on Sync speed & Noise margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Our central heating isn't even turned on at the moment.. I don't have anything else set to do anything at ...

    1. #11
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Our central heating isn't even turned on at the moment.. I don't have anything else set to do anything at that time.. looking at my router stats things seem to get slow as the noise margin gets to 5.7 and below then eventually the ppp connection fails. but the router stays in sync which I guess prevents the router from droping down the sync speed and connecting with a better noise margin..

      I'm at the halesowen exchange.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      on my previous connection I noticed that noise margin goes down when the weather is rainy so things can only get worse from here, as it's been sunny all week here..

    4. #13
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Perhaps the BT lines to your home are getting waterlogged at some point?

    5. #14
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      Been clear and sunny here all week so I hope the SNR is not effected by the rain as my max is 7db to start with and no margin for any drops

    6. #15
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Perhaps.. My 2 meg connection with plusnet with a DG834G before this was nice and stable would have uptimes of days. The Noise margin did get really low at times but the system remained stable. The DG834GT carn't be that different?

    7. #16
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      I think the WG834GT just adds "AUTO108" to the wireless settings.

    8. #17
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Annie and others,
      My noise margin jumps around all over the stop at the moment from 5.6 to 6.4 does not stay the same is that the same on your machines?

    9. #18
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      Was 5.6 then 5.4 then 5.5 back to 5.6

      With a sync of 2968Kbps <-- should be above 4000Kbps

    10. #19
      tadunne's Avatar
      tadunne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      5.3 now just did speed test @ www.speedtest.net got 3268 down 317 up I'm sync'd @ 4280 and 385 so not too far off. So maybe the slow downs I get are not related to the noise margin!?
      The fact that we both have the same problem at 19:30 ish makes be wonder if it's something else?

    11. #20
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      I'm in the lucky situation of still having a 4Mb bluyonder cable connection sitting idle next to the Sky router so if Sky fail to rosolve this i'll move my CAT5 back over and cancel Sky. But I really would like to get Sky at 4Mb as the price is right

     

     
    Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION