Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Connection Issues

    This is a discussion on Connection Issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have the sky max product but when trying to use the internet I get page cannot be displayed, you ...

    1. #1
      MrWesty's Avatar
      MrWesty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444242965
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connection Issues

      I have the sky max product but when trying to use the internet I get page cannot be displayed, you may not be connected to the internet. I then have to reboot then disconnect and reconnect before it works then it might work for a week it might work for 10 mins...?

      Also the fastest connection speed i've seen is 8096 I expected a bit more otherwise I would have gone with the mid pack any ideas why this might be?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      Post your full router stats using the utility below and someone will help
      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4
      cheers
      dave


    4. #3
      MrWesty's Avatar
      MrWesty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444242965
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7840 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 42.0 26.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.2
      Max(Kbps): 8480 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 7840 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 246(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 246 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0485 8.6153
      L: 1976 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 84452 84450
      SFErr: 14 0
      RS: 11485604 717825
      RSCorr: 1220 0
      RSUnCorr: 216 0

      HEC: 10 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 26563196 0
      Data Cells: 205785 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 12 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 28 0
      Total time = 24 min 35 sec
      SF = 84452
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      Latest 1 day time = 24 min 35 sec
      SF = 84452
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 35 sec
      SF = 33816
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 50636
      CRC = 9
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      Your attenuation is borderline for getting more speed and you are already getting errors as it is, so I wouldn't try for more if I were you (you would need to sky to move you to ADSL2+ from g.dmt).

      Are you connecting wirelessly or wired?

    6. #5
      MrWesty's Avatar
      MrWesty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444242965
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      Wired.

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      As red says your attenuation is borderline and a move to adsl2+, assuming you could persuade sky to do it, would surely introduce more. The errors relate to a very short connection period. Try again after a few hours and see if they do increase, if they do you need to address this before sky would consider moving you.
      cheers
      dave


    8. #7
      MrWesty's Avatar
      MrWesty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444242965
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      This is pretty much how is came out of the box.

      Also what do you need to do to move to ADSL2+?

    9. #8
      MrWesty's Avatar
      MrWesty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444242965
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      What are the errors and how can I sort them?

    10. #9
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      to move to ADSL2+ you need to phone sky, but they will be able to see the errors on your line and will be reluctant to move you to a service that will provide a poorer quality (and they would be right!).

    11. #10
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      where it shows:

      SF = 33816
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5


      everyting except the top figure should be 0.

      Try the test socket under the master socket to reduce errors (see my sig). Otherwise you would need to pursuade BT to improve you line (which won't happen unless you are prepared to pay big bucks or can find errors on your voice line).

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION