Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Connection Issues

    This is a discussion on Connection Issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok i will try the router in the master socket and see if that reduces the errors. We have noticed ...

    1. #11
      MrWesty's Avatar
      MrWesty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444242965
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      Ok i will try the router in the master socket and see if that reduces the errors. We have noticed since since moving here that the when talking on the phone it sounds like it raining but we thought that was the phone its self.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      Quote Originally Posted by MrWesty View Post
      Ok i will try the router in the master socket
      remember its the test socket so you need to remove the faceplate of the master socket.

    4. #13
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      Thinking about it, would a move to adsl2+ increase sync speed based on the line att. I'm not sure but I dont think so, maybe the best way forward would be to address the errors and then assess whether mid would be a better package to be on. Not sure if they will move you down in first 12 months tho.
      cheers
      dave


    5. #14
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      the line attenuation will get more speed but not much more.

      My attenuation is 43db and I got myself moved to ADSL2+ and I could sync at over 9Mb..... but very unstable. A stable connection was around 7Mb and I have manually moved the router to g.dmt as this was also more stable.

    6. #15
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Connection Issues

      Yes red, that confirms what i was thinking that the increase would be minimal and potentially more unstable. Unlimited downloads, and you can still get a lot at 8mb, and the increase in up would make max a better package for me over mid even at 8mb.


     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION