Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Am I capped on max or just unlucky?

    This is a discussion on Am I capped on max or just unlucky? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi forum, please take a look at my stats excuse the layout, makes for easier reading. Want to kow if ...

    1. #1
      xyleneuk's Avatar
      xyleneuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STAINES
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Laleham Middx
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lightbulb Am I capped on max or just unlucky?

      Hi forum,

      please take a look at my stats excuse the layout, makes for easier reading.

      Want to kow if I am capped and if my line would support anymore?

      Link Information


      Uptime: 0 days, 0:53:08

      Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A

      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 768 / 8,096

      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 1.47 / 5.29

      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 9.5 / 19.5

      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 25.5 / 42.0

      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 14.0 / 7.5

      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN

      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Link (Remote): 0

      Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 803 / 0

      FEC Errors (Up/Down): 4 / 3,330

      CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 25

      HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 21

      Thanks

      James


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,029
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 89 Times in 82 Posts

      Re: Am I capped on max or just unlucky?

      a) you're not using the sky router are you?
      b) yes you look like your are on g.dmt which will cap at 8096
      c) with your attenuation you are borderline as to whether you would get a stable connection much above 8096.

    4. #3
      xyleneuk's Avatar
      xyleneuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STAINES
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Laleham Middx
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I capped on max or just unlucky?

      Hi and tha ks for the very fast answer

      I'm tsting a speed touch 716wl as I need the VOIP ports.

      although the same stats on the sky bb router

      is GDMT sky max, adsl2 LLU or what? (soory new to this)

      Cheers

      smoke me a kipper skipper.

      J,
      Last edited by xyleneuk; 15-05-07 at 10:40 PM.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,029
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 89 Times in 82 Posts

      Re: Am I capped on max or just unlucky?

      Sky LLU is not anything, it depends on what they put you on.

      G.DMT tends to have a max sync of 8096 on sky. ADSL2+ gets you more, but with your attenuation you may find moving to ADSL2+ and the higher sync could result in an unstable connection.

      You would need to persude sky to move you to adsl2+ (and you would have to plug in your old router again).

      Actually - is your router capable of ADSL2+ as it may be that which is capping you and not sky!!!!! (just checked and yes it is!)

    6. #5
      xyleneuk's Avatar
      xyleneuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STAINES
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Laleham Middx
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I capped on max or just unlucky?

      I am sure before in the old days gdmt showed up in the stats list.

      now I see

      Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A

      Does that mean anything to you?

      I think the 716 is adsl+2 supported.

      also I get kicked at last once a day around 7-8 pm.
      no idea why, he rest of the day s stable.

      Cheers

      J.

      "yes its just like bubble wrap but you paint it red"

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION