Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29

    Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

    This is a discussion on Sky's 6mb BB Package Help. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; well wheelie has informed me that my problem is that my downspeed noise margin is very low (5.8) and this ...

    1. #11
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      well wheelie has informed me that my problem is that my downspeed noise margin is very low (5.8) and this is the problem

      Rang sky after getting cut off 6 times - and they say my exchange has a problem - and tier 3 will call me back but i dont believe that for a second.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      You're on Connect and this is a bit different from LLU in that Connect uses exchange based rate adaption. This means that your connection rate should adjust itself to what the exchange equipment decides is an acceptable noise margin.

      On LLU, 5.8db (your earlier post said 5.9) would be borderline poor and could certainly be managed up a bit for a stable connection. On Connect? It should be fine and changing it yourself may well screw up your profile. But then again, maybe it is already screwed up. Personally, I'd leave it alone as it should sort itself out.

      Y (and Wheelie's) MMV

    4. #13
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      well after experiencing sky's so called tech support im off to pastures new

      gonna pay abit more and get abit more of usage - and decent support!

    5. #14
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      Quote Originally Posted by PeteC View Post
      well after experiencing sky's so called tech support im off to pastures new

      gonna pay abit more and get abit more of usage - and decent support!
      If you go with a MAX DSL product from any other provider you'll just get the same thing, a BT Wholesale package.
      The support may be better (though, ultimately the same process of reporting a fault to BT and I suspect none being found in this case), but the line will be the same quality and so will the equipment in the exchange.

    6. #15
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Welcome to the forum


      There is no up to 6mb package.

      .
      probably like me sky said i would get upto 6mb thats probably what he means

    7. #16
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      thanks for the feedback mrstabby, however in this case there IS a BT fault - my line's noise margin is very low

      it's been at 5.9 for ages - and today it's at 7.7 - it SHOULD be around 16 - as it's when you go onto LLU that it drops - at the moment it's less than some LLU lines and that's why im being strangled.

      My exchange has no VP left - and is on red - and the 2 fix dates have come and gone - so as one was the 11th i m waiting to see if it goes green again - and because my noise margin is going up it's possible it has been fixed

      i still cannot get over 280k/sec yet i am synced at 7752 down

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      Could be what's known as "sticky BRAS"

      Sky T2 can request that BT "unstick" it.

    9. #18
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      but everyone i talk to says it nothing to do with sky and its BTs fault

      so i can't win i might aswell just go back to cable..

    10. #19
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      You're a Sky customer so it is their problem. However, as it is Connect they (T2) will have to pass a request to BT to investigate. BT won't accept a request from you.

    11. #20
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's 6mb BB Package Help.

      Well apperently they have e-mailed them

      can i not as BT customer ask BT to come and replace the wiring and socket?

      i have noticed a box which i think is an extension on the other window sill - the wiring is very bad to it - and the master socket is very old and battered

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION