Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

    This is a discussion on Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Why I'm I only getting 4mbps? I rung up SKY before, to ask why but they told me my exchange ...

    1. #1
      Chi's Avatar
      Chi
      Chi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      Why I'm I only getting 4mbps? I rung up SKY before, to ask why but they told me my exchange supports a maximum of 4mbps.

      Should I call SKY back?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4768 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 43.0 27.0
      Pwr(dBm): 18.9 9.9
      Max(Kbps): 5344 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 4768 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 150(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 159 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1000 8.6153
      L: 1280 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 4725216 4725214
      SFErr: 2692 776
      RS: 321314728 40164319
      RSCorr: 172178461 4014
      RSUnCorr: 16754 0

      HEC: 2288 576
      OCD: 8 166
      LCD: 0 16
      Total Cells: 903292887 0
      Data Cells: 7507025 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 506 0
      SES: 170 0
      UAS: 39 0
      Total time = 22 hours 55 min 12 sec
      SF = 4850424
      CRC = 3128
      LOS = 588
      LOF = 0
      ES = 506
      Latest 1 day time = 22 hours 55 min 12 sec
      SF = 4850424
      CRC = 3128
      LOS = 588
      LOF = 0
      ES = 506
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 12 sec
      SF = 36051
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 23
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 7
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      Your line attenuation is quite high 43db which indicates you are some distance from the exchange so Sky could be right. If you look 2 lines down on your stats at "Max" it indicates the fastest your line can run at is 5.3mb.
      If you enter your attenuation into this DSL ZoneUK - How fast can I get on ADSL2+? its indicates approx max speed on ADSL2 would be 6mb to 10mb, but you are on GDMT not ADSL2 so that could be why the difference. If you were on ADSL2 and you are a long way from the exchange then you may suffer more line errors and instability, so catch 22 really.
      Hope this helps.
      Last edited by Koala5; 11-05-07 at 01:53 AM.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      4768kbps is low for an attenuation of 43db whether on G.DMT or ADSL2+.

      Almost certainly the shortfall is due to noise on your line - most probably due to your internal(house) phone wiring. Using your router connected to an extension?

      You need to run a comparison with your router connected directly to the test socket with the supplied cable. Your test socket is hidden inside your master socket assuming you have an NTE5.

    5. #4
      Chi's Avatar
      Chi
      Chi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      I dont have a NET5 socket. Also, I entered in my attentuation on taht ADSL2 site, and got 16-22 mbps.
      Any ideas what I should do?

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by Chi View Post
      I entered in my attentuation on taht ADSL2 site, and got 16-22 mbps.
      You didn't. Try again.

      In any event, as Koala5 has already pointed out you're not on standard ADSL so the figure is incorrect.

      Quote Originally Posted by Chi View Post
      Any ideas what I should do?
      Well, reading the responses to your posts in this thread would be a good start - as would reading a few other posts on the forum, especially the stickies.

      You have a noisy line. You won't get a higher speed until you fix this. If you do you might get ~8750kbps.

    7. #6
      Chi's Avatar
      Chi
      Chi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      You didn't. Try again.

      In any event, as Koala5 has already pointed out you're not on standard ADSL so the figure is incorrect.


      Well, reading the responses to your posts in this thread would be a good start - as would reading a few other posts on the forum, especially the stickies.

      You have a noisy line. You won't get a higher speed until you fix this. If you do you might get ~8750kbps.
      Lol, I did enter in my attentuation and got 16-22 mbps. Whats hard to believe about that?

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      Because if you put 43 you don't get 16-22mbps.

    9. #8
      Chi's Avatar
      Chi
      Chi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Because if you put 43 you don't get 16-22mbps.
      Oh ahh, I entered in the noise margin by accident. So you recommend ripping out wires to reduce the noise?

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      I've already given you advice:

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Almost certainly the shortfall is due to noise on your line - most probably due to your internal(house) phone wiring. Using your router connected to an extension?
      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      reading the responses to your posts in this thread would be a good start - as would reading a few other posts on the forum, especially the stickies.

    11. #10
      Chi's Avatar
      Chi
      Chi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Only getting 4mbps on MAX - Help with stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      I've already given you advice:
      Alright... calm downnnn.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION