Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Can anyone advise please?

    This is a discussion on Can anyone advise please? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After 2 weeks of nothing but hassle, I finally have my sky connection. But - my other half can't get ...

    1. #1
      fuzzypeg's Avatar
      fuzzypeg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01264
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Can anyone advise please?

      After 2 weeks of nothing but hassle, I finally have my sky connection. But - my other half can't get a connection for more than a couple of minutes on his laptop. When it does connect, it says 'limited access'. We're not very good with computers so won't understand anything complicated! Thanks in advance for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ryan1992's Avatar
      Ryan1992 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wishaw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      542
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: Can anyone advise please?

      Try moving your router around to see, maybe the wireless connection isnt very strong ( i assume you use wireless)

    4. #3
      fuzzypeg's Avatar
      fuzzypeg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01264
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone advise please?

      Hi. Yes, we do use the wireless sky router. We've tried moving it and it made no difference.

    5. #4
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone advise please?

      okay with the little info we have am going to take a stab in the dark and say its not actually getting a ip with the wireless due to the encryption used.

      Built in wireless ? or a dongle of some kind , please state model nunber is possible. as you are not too computer geeky laid some intructions for you below. these will take you through setting up wep

      If you cant find it and want to retest, log into the router using the yellow lan cable supplied and change the router to WEP security in wireless options and 128bit make a key and apply the settings.

      use the key to connect to the network. However as you have tried to connect previously under preferd networks in your wireless lan properties remove the sky connection. refresh the network list and then reconnect.

      Get stuck post back or pm me. as the above is a brief summary, I am sure there is a wep guide on the forums aswell.

    6. #5
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone advise please?

      Another cause of intermittent disconnections can be the UPnP setting which is faulty in the Sky router. In our case it affected only the computer which was furthest from the router (with the weaker wireless signal).

      See tutorials on this site for how to address the router's user interface and turn off UPnP.

    7. #6
      fuzzypeg's Avatar
      fuzzypeg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01264
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone advise please?

      Thanks for your advice. I'm also wondering if the problem could be that other half's laptop is vista and my computer is XP. Would that cause any kind of conflict? (Apologies if that's a stupid thought, I really am computer 'thick'!!)

    8. #7
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone advise please?

      the os wont really make much of a diffrence if its a security issue, did you try changing it to wep in the router as I advised earlier ?

    9. #8
      fuzzypeg's Avatar
      fuzzypeg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01264
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone advise please?

      I haven't tried it, guinness, as I don't understand what it means. Sorry, it's too complicated for me. All I can do is turn the computer on and surf! Other half doesn't understand it either.
      Last edited by fuzzypeg; 09-05-07 at 12:23 AM.

    10. #9
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Can anyone advise please?

      it does sound like an IP conflict. If you leave the other PC totally off and just use the laptop, is it okay then?

    11. #10
      fuzzypeg's Avatar
      fuzzypeg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01264
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone advise please?

      If we plug the yellow ethernet cable straight into the laptop it works fine. Well, it did when we tried it at the weekend anyway! But no, the laptop doesn't connect when the main computer is off.
      Last edited by fuzzypeg; 09-05-07 at 12:32 AM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION