Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

FTP server and dns. Please help :)

This is a discussion on FTP server and dns. Please help :) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I'm somewhat new to this so please have patience. I have had Sky broadband since Dec 2006. It ...

madcow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

FTP server and dns. Please help :)

Hi All,

I'm somewhat new to this so please have patience.

I have had Sky broadband since Dec 2006. It was a bit bumpy at the beginning but all is fine now.

I have 2 computers with the ip address 192.168.0.2 and 192.168.0.3.
      On one i have installed an FTp server (192.168.0.3)

Internally i can get onto the ftp server from 192.168.0.2 but not externally.

UltraVNC which i use from work i can access on both pc's without problem using portforwarding.

I have used the internet browser from both pc's, also an FTP client on both but to no avail. I have switched on the UPnP on the router (although some here on the forum think it's a sin ) and the ports are apparently forwarded. I even asked a friend to try and access the FTp Server from his pc, but to no avail.

Does anyone have ANY idea as the helpdesk at sky knows less than i do and netgear say that they do not support this router as it does not have standard software.

I have looked at the forum here and found some nice tutorials and threads which i have been through, step by step.

Thx in advance

ALL THAT WE KNOW IS THAT WE DON'T KNOW..............

2. Advertisement
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Re: FTP server and dns. Please help :)