Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Can anyone help a newbie?!

    This is a discussion on Can anyone help a newbie?! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there I've just become a Sky MAX customer and would be grateful of some advice. According to DSLZone I'm ...

    1. #1
      funkygeeza's Avatar
      funkygeeza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STSHRLY
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can anyone help a newbie?!

      Hi there

      I've just become a Sky MAX customer and would be grateful of some advice.

      According to DSLZone I'm only around 610 metres from my local exchange (as the crow flies).

      The Sky/Netgear router is reporting the following stats:

      Connection Speed 8096 kbps / 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.0 db / 14.0 db
      Noise Margin 15.8 db / 14.0 db

      And SpeetTest.net is giving me the following results:



      Is this what I should be expecting or is there cause for concern? Are there any settings on the PC or router that I should adjust/tweak? Any feedback would be very much appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

      Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Can anyone help a newbie?!

      Nope, get on to Sky as they have capped you. I would expect you would get the full 16Mb (or close to it).

      Your noise margin is certainly high enough which proves that you should be able to get the real speed that your attenuation is capable of.

    4. #3
      funkygeeza's Avatar
      funkygeeza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STSHRLY
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Re: Can anyone help a newbie?!

      okay will do. didn't think that sounded right somehow! how can they 'cap' someone who's only just been made live?! i've not even started using and p2p software or anything yet! all ive done is chat on msn and check myspace and emails mostly!

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Can anyone help a newbie?!

      Capping isn't done to limit people's usage it is done to reduce errors on problem lines. Presumably Sky found line problems when they connected you - this is usually but not always the reason. Sometimes they make mistakes.

      Have a look at the router stats forum. You'll find out how to get your full stats which will show line errors as well as reading how you might reduce them if they are there (the cabling and faceplate help forum covers this in more detail).

      Do bear in mind though that capping is done to reduce errors so your line may show low levels now which would be much higher uncapped.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION