Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

    This is a discussion on Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; moveing from a ADSL max line via MAC code to SKY BB and my exchange has ADSL2+ and easynet/sky LLU ...

    1. #1
      theskid's Avatar
      theskid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      moveing from a ADSL max line via MAC code to SKY BB and my exchange has ADSL2+ and easynet/sky LLU active
      question is will i get an ADSL2+ connection straight away?or will it be a ADSL max connection

      also i have just received my sky router when will my conection be active do i get a letter telling me when it will be active?

      thankyou


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      if ur on Max from the outset, it'll be ADSL2+/16MB....where ur line stays stable is a different matter tho

    4. #3
      theskid's Avatar
      theskid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      so your saying even though i was on BT's 8mbit ADSL max
      migrateing to sky's ADSL max i will be upgraded to ADSL2+ automatically?
      Also how long on average does this take?

    5. #4
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      You've signed up for the Sky Max package (Different from and not to be confused with Adsl MAX ) which is up to 16Mb and available if your local exchange has been unbundled. You should come straight in on it provided there's spare capacity at your exchange. If there's not, then you'll have to wait to be moved over. Nobody can give you an answer till the little man has waved his screwdriver set over the bits of string and bluetack down at your local, you'll just have to wait and see - but you really shouldn't have a problem. When you signed up you should either have been given an activation date or have received a letter stating it.

    6. #5
      sjw7's Avatar
      sjw7 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Didcot
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      When you have everything setup check the status page on your router which will tell you your connection speed. I have just migrated from another ISP to sky and am on the Max package but i am only connecting at 8mb at the moment.

      I get the impression that if you already had normal ADSL broadband your connection might not be automaticaly upgraded to ADSL2+ during the setup process. I am in the process of talking to their customer support people to get it changed as i know my exchange can do ADSL2+.

      You may need to nag sky a bit over it if you do only get 8mb but i have seen plenty of threads on here suggesting that in the end they will get it sorted for you.

    7. #6
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      The whole 8096kb/G-DMT cap on the Max package doesn't have any relation to who you has DSL from before you migrate to Sky. It's a cap put on the line by Sky for QoS reasons as they believe your line is best suited to it.
      This isn't always the best thing for the line and some people can benefit from having the cap moved to 16Mb/ADSL2+.
      If you do find yourself capped at 8096kb then just call up and have Tier 1 open a 'Slow Conenction' ticket for Tier 3 who will remove the cap.

    8. #7
      guvnor's Avatar
      guvnor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01794
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      Just migrated from BT ADSL to Sky Max. Was getting 4.5Mbps download on BT. Sky are saying that 4.5 is the maximum I can get on Sky Max, and the three Sky operators I have spoken to all confirm I am on their ADLS2+ uncapped connection. My line attenuation is 45db. The ADSL2+ speed checker on this site quotes a connection speed of 7-8Mbps for this attenuation. I told Sky this, but they are adamant that 4.5Mbps is the maximum my line can sustain. Is this right? I had assumed that going onto an ADSL2+ connection would mean faster connection speeds. For the time being I've switched to the Mid package. Not sure what else I can do.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      what are your stats? my attenuation is 45db and I get 5-6Mbps depending when I reboot the router...so it's about right...

      adsl2+ only benefits people with attenuations below 30 so I doubt you'd see any improvement...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      My attenuation is 40db, and i am on ADSL2+ getting 10Mb connection

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10239 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.0 db 23.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 12.5 db

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Will i be on ADSL2+ straight up?

      you're a VERY rare exception...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION