Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Ethernet port???

    This is a discussion on Ethernet port??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi, i got the 8mb sky broadband.. and i wanted to connect the sky router to my old computer.. its ...

    1. #1
      k9028's Avatar
      k9028 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ethernet port???

      hi, i got the 8mb sky broadband.. and i wanted to connect the sky router to my old computer.. its windows 98.. but i cant see no ethernet port to connect the yellow thernet cable... is der any way i can connect it ??

      thanks.
      Last edited by k9028; 01-05-07 at 01:51 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Ethernet port???

      You could always buy a cheap NIC to put in your PC or even go wireless with a wireless PCI or USB dongle. Depends on ur current PC spec, do you know what make and model?

      The fact ur running Windows 98 suggests a very old PC, so I would need to know the above to know if ur PC has available PCI slots or USB
      Last edited by d3fiant; 01-05-07 at 01:59 PM.
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage

    4. #3
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Ethernet port???

      hell if ur local to Milton Keynes Ive got a NIC you can have for free
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage

    5. #4
      k9028's Avatar
      k9028 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet port???

      Quote Originally Posted by k9028 View Post
      hi, i got the 8mb sky broadband.. and i wanted to connect the sky router to my old computer.. its windows 98.. but i cant see no ethernet port to connect the yellow thernet cable... is der any way i can connect it ??

      thanks.

      erm i got a new computer a dell 1 but i wana use internet on the old one to.. its a tiny computer ... hmm makee... ill hav a loook

    6. #5
      Raggy's Avatar
      Raggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet port???

      Dude. Upgrade to at least Windows XP. I mean, Windows 98 = too old. Some people out there have good reason to use it, but those are rare cases. If you live in Milton Keynes, as per:

      hell if ur local to Milton Keynes Ive got a NIC you can have for free

      Then you can have a Windows XP disk I've got and use that! Us Milton Keynesian's are a generous bunch!


    7. #6
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Ethernet port???

      Quote Originally Posted by Raggy View Post
      Us Milton Keynesian's are a generous bunch!
      ...if a little gullible, like believing in 'up to 16MB' and getting 2MB still..back on topic, possible that old system might not put up with XP
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage

    8. #7
      Raggy's Avatar
      Raggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet port???

      lol, the max speed we can get here is 3 meg I believe? Que sera sera. I usually get about 2 and a half to just under 3 on average....

      Hmmm, your right, if it's an old system, then yes, it might not be able to handle XP. Oh well, let's wait for the spec I guess......

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ethernet port???

      Using a wireless connection with Win98 is not a good idea. Sometimes it works fine and others it is very difficult to get it working at all. You can pick up a PCI network card very cheaply and it will give you less problems. eBay have a good selection.

      Installing XP on a '98 vintage machine can be expensive, the memory would probably have to be upgraded for a start. In addition drivers may not be available for your hardware.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION