Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Too Many Problems - Sky Max

    This is a discussion on Too Many Problems - Sky Max within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all! Having ordered SkyMax a while ago, the engineer came around yesterday to set it up. Well, he didnt ...

    1. #1
      rp07's Avatar
      rp07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Hi all!

      Having ordered SkyMax a while ago, the engineer came around yesterday to set it up. Well, he didnt really do a good job and didnt know what he was doing!

      I have 3 computers, 2 with XP, 1 with ME. We were told that SkyMax would work with ME, but then found out yesterday it wouldnt!

      The Problem

      - I have the sky rooter pluged into my computer (XP) via Ethernet, somthing that we were never told that we needed, but the internet is working fine for me anyway.

      - The other XP computer, which has a Wireless USB Belkin reciever has VERY slow loading times accessing the internet an websites.

      - The ME computer now has NO internet access when we were told it would. It has a USB wireless D-Link reciever.

      - We cannot log on, on the Sky Broadband homepage with the information provided.

      Me and the family are VERY annoyed and are complaining to Sky. I would like to know if there is a way to get the ME computer on the internet, how to get the other XP computer connecting to the new

      Thanks alot



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Me and the family are VERY annoyed and are complaining to Sky. I would like to know if there is a way to get the ME computer on the internet, how to get the other XP computer connecting to the new
      How far is the ME PC from the Sky router, no disrespect but ME was never the best operating system and has lacked support for years. It may be an idea to put an ethernet card in this one and then cable it directly to the router.

      As for the slow wireless one, have a read of this:

      Slow Wireless Speeds? Read this!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      rp07's Avatar
      rp07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Well the ME computer is quite old, thats the only reason we sitll have that OS on it. It worked fine with our previous D Link router. The D Link reciever can find the signal sent by the SKY router, but just doesnt connect.

      Both computers are about 4-10 metres away from the router

      The thing is that we were told that ME would work with the Sky Package and thats why I am annoyed really.

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Im sure someone else posted about this aswell, Try changing the settings ex, from WPA-PSK to WEP, See if that helps, I dont know what security method was used with the DLink so im asuming it might have been WEP as that was most commonly used until the last couple of years

    6. #5
      rp07's Avatar
      rp07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Ok cheers.

      Well on the other XP computer now, loading times are still very low, and in some cases dont load the website.

      In thoery i shouldnt have to download software to make it work better. The reciever is a Belkin but I am lost what to do to make it better

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Had a similar problem on a mates IBM laptop, I dont think it's anything to do with ME its that some old wireless adapters don't support WPA sercurity which all new routers use. You could try going into the router menu and turn the wireless sercurity off for a moment then try connecting with the ME machine, if it connects then try setting up WEP sercuity as the older machine will probably be happy with that my mates was. While you are in the router menu turn uPNP off as that is a source of problems as well.

      To get in router, on one of the machines which is working type 192.168.0.1 into explorer then user=admin password=sky.

    8. #7
      rp07's Avatar
      rp07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      I have accessed the router a few times to try and improve the connection for the other computer. I changed the channel to 6 and changed the option to 'g', which has improved it slightly.

      The wireless reciever isnt that old, I got it last July but I will still try what you said.

      I darent turn off the encrytion, just in case something goes wrong, and i'll get the blame :S lol

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      You only need to disable it for a few minutes just to prove a point. It is just a check box.

    10. #9
      rp07's Avatar
      rp07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      True true.

      So when the engineer came round and said that it wouldnt work with ME, why was it? The fact that microsoft arent supporting it anymore?

      Cheers

    11. #10
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Probabaly cos he is trained to install dishes!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION