Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Too Many Problems - Sky Max

    This is a discussion on Too Many Problems - Sky Max within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yes, That has been the case in loads of places, The Engineers know there stuff in the "telly-world" but there ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Yes, That has been the case in loads of places, The Engineers know there stuff in the "telly-world" but there "Broadband" skills are well.. none to be mentioned..

      Another reason is, Most of the Sky CS, Who have PC's either have 2000/98/XP and when they are diagnosing a problem they know the OS inside out ever so slightly.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Compatibility has NOTHING to do with the OS. It's to do with if you can get drivers for the wireless card/s. I have a VERY old Fujistu Stylistic 1200 tablet that has a Pentium 90 chip in it and a 2 gig hard drive with about 64 meg ram running a cut down version of win98SE (needed the SE for drivers else I would have used 95) that I use for a wireless picture frame. I have a netgear wireless PCMCIA card in and it will only connect if WEP is used instead of WPA. So I would say try setting the router to WEP instead of WPA thats set as standard.

    4. #13
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Ive about had it with sky, I have to constantly re boot router, speeds are slowing to below 350mbs (I have max) customer service is a joke, you can hear them turning the pages of the script. they ignore emails. I'm going to try and end the contract under clauses 10 an 11, and I'm going to see if I can legally get compensation.

    5. #14
      rp07's Avatar
      rp07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      It all works now with out the encrytion enabled

      But do you recomend using it without the encryption?

      Thanks alot

    6. #15
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Madrat, It sounds to me like your router dropping the connection is due to your line being noisy or something. Try posting your router stats and create another thread saying connection dropping all the time. Or even better read the sticky posts about problems with disconnections. I personally have never had any disconnections even when my snr dropped to 6. Try the mognuts utility <Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 >
      and look at the stats there and compare with others.



      rp07 use the encryption set to WEP thats good enough unless you have some elite hackers living next door but never have no encryption other wise neighbours can use your internet...
      Last edited by IanMax; 30-04-07 at 06:08 PM.
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    7. #16
      rp07's Avatar
      rp07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Im sure there is no option to enter a WEP for the Dlink wireless reciever I have.

      I will have a look into it later though

    8. #17
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Quote Originally Posted by rp07 View Post
      It all works now with out the encrytion enabled

      But do you recomend using it without the encryption?

      Thanks alot
      No I wouldn't advise to use without encription, choices are 1: Hard wire it to the router 2: Get WEP working 3: Buy a later wireless adapter for the PC which will work with WPA.

    9. #18
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Well I emailed James Murdock. Cant find the post that suggested it, so if a mod could maybe move this to ther. Anyway got a call today from someone called Malcolm, he has promised to pass my problems to Senior tech and he will be getting back to me. Told him main problem was tech help from people that don't know one end of a computer from the other, being lied to and fobbed off, even included a copy of the posting off hear from a sky employee. So if you are having probs email James Murdock, mention clause 10 and 11 in sky terms and conditions and the fact you are considering legal action for breach of contract.

    10. #19
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Too Many Problems - Sky Max

      Got a 2 calls from Easynet today, told me they were going to make some changes on my exchange because they could see ther were some problems, so after he made the changes I went on line to see what was happening. My speed had dropped from 7.5 mb to 5mb, never mind I thought thats not to bad, then he called again to say he was going to make one more change, never thought to mention drop in speed. Checked again and my speed is now down to 3.3mp. I am really Pis## off now. I might as well stayed with Pipex at this rate.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION