Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Higher attenuation with sky router

    This is a discussion on Higher attenuation with sky router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I received my sky router today, so I've flashed it to the latest netgear firmware and hooked it up to ...

    1. #1
      FrostFree's Avatar
      FrostFree is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Higher attenuation with sky router

      I received my sky router today, so I've flashed it to the latest netgear firmware and hooked it up to my current BB provider (not sky), and noticed that line attenuation is 66db, however it's always 55 or 56db with my older DG834G router.

      Can anyone explain why attenuation is so much higher with the sky router?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Higher attenuation with sky router

      Mine rose from 15dB to 20 with the Sky router also
      BT Infinity

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Higher attenuation with sky router

      If you are in the process of switching to Sky, that probably wasn't a wise move because the Sky router had your unique user id and password stored in it. Sky will not supply this number as it is unique to the router not the user. So if you haven't backed it up somewhere you are in trouble.

    5. #4
      FrostFree's Avatar
      FrostFree is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Higher attenuation with sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      If you are in the process of switching to Sky, that probably wasn't a wise move because the Sky router had your unique user id and password stored in it. Sky will not supply this number as it is unique to the router not the user. So if you haven't backed it up somewhere you are in trouble.
      Thanks, I had it backed up alright. Bucklez, did you investigate why yours went up, or tried your older router with sky to see if it dropped? Anyone else experienced this?

    6. #5
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Higher attenuation with sky router

      My old router still says 15.5dB, no idea why it went up, guess cause its a diff modem, my old Zoom router i used to use said 25dB.
      BT Infinity

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Higher attenuation with sky router

      There are two factors which can cause attenuation to change between routers:
      • different routers measure it differently
      • different ADSL modes will give a different attenuation figures e.g ADSL2+ will give a higher attenuation figure than ADSL1

    8. #7
      FrostFree's Avatar
      FrostFree is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Higher attenuation with sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      There are two factors which can cause attenuation to change between routers:
      • different routers measure it differently
      • different ADSL modes will give a different attenuation figures e.g ADSL2+ will give a higher attenuation figure than ADSL1
      My line's still on a 512kbp adsl1 line, it looks like the sky router gives a higher reading. Once my Sky BB is activated I'll do speed tests using each router over a couple of days to see if the higer reading has an impact.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Higher attenuation with sky router

      Just so you are prepared, if you are seeing 66db, it does not look good for your connection. Your will be lucky to get 2Mbs. You must be a fair distance from the exchange or have a very bad line.

      @BuckleZ
      My old router still says 15.5dB
      That looks like the 15.5 bug, it probably is not correct.

    10. #9
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Higher attenuation with sky router

      It was no bug, it varied from 15dB to 15.5dB on a Voyager 2100, used it for years and any Whoosh tests my ISP done confirmed this.
      BT Infinity

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Higher attenuation with sky router

      Sorry, I thought you were referring to the attenuation, not the noise margin.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION